1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Noob Ubuntu question

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by FreedomEclipse, May 11, 2013.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    Ive tried looking for a solution to my question on google but its turning up no hits, either no one has asked the question or im wording it badly.

    so heres the relevant stuff:

    I have a HP DM1 running Windows 7 Ultimate at the moment, a few days ago I decided to give another OS a go and decided that ubuntu would be a good candidate given the fact that a lot of DM1 owners are running it on theirs.

    and heres where the question starts...

    I have 8gigs of DDR3 in my DM1 so Im guessing I need the 64bit distro of Ubuntu. I also have an oldskool non-uefi aka 'legacy' bios.... but on the Ubuntu download page it says that systems that have a UEFI bios should install the 64bit distro but I cant find anything about installing a 64bit distro onto a machine with legacy bios.

    Is it still possible?? Obviously I can burn the latest distro to disk and try it out for myself but Id rather save time and ask someone who knows what their dealing with when it comes to ubuntu.

    Thanks.
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I'd try it, does it say the 64bit distro requires UEFI?
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    "If you have a PC with the Windows 8 logo or UEFI firmware, choose the 64-bit download...."

    Is what it says. I dont have the win 8 logo or UEFI but i do have 8gigs of ram. I could trial and error it but I dont want to wasting my time incase it doesnt work :p
     
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Yes it is still possible. That is for people who do have UEFI or Win8 in which case 64-bit distro is the only option. Since you do not fit into that catagory, you can use any distro you want 32-bit or 64-bit.

    I personally have never used a non-64-bit Ubuntu distro and I still don't have a UEFI BIOS.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  5. Maelstrom

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    534 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    VA/PA
    It works to my knowledge. I'm running Ubuntu 13.04 64 bit on my laptop, which doesn't have uefi.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    Thanks,

    Will install it and give it ago tomorrow if not later in the week
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,298 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    All they're saying is that if it's a Windows 8 ready UEFI system, use 64-bit regardless of how much memory the system has. Otherwise use 64-bit for 4Gb or more machines. 64-bit Ubuntu does not need UEFI and to think that it did would be absurd. :)
     
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You will need the 64 bit distro because of your 8 gb of mem. I have run ubuntu on everything from a Socket A rig to the Phenom II x6 I am running it on now. I have used the 64 bit version on all rigs from My Athlon 64 x2 to present. If you have a 64 bit compatible rig then always use the 64 bit version.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Geekoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    77 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    UK
    It doesn't matter too much about the 8 GB RAM. While a 64-bit system is your best choice (to be able to address > 4GB), 32-Bit Ubuntu has PAE suppport anyway.

    The "LTS" editions are Long Term Support editions. Stick with an LTS edition if you don't like change. Server editions are very good with Ubuntu. They come headless, and hence are perfect as servers. The server edition also makes a good desktop, as you can add whatever you like - rather than get full Desktop edition and cut it back. You will, however, need to know a bit about what you want to do and so as a "noob" I'd stick with a desktop release.

    13.04 is the current Desktop release - and is good to go for another few months before you should upgrade.

    You may also like Linux Mint. It is based on Ubuntu, but they make some changes based around desktop use:

    http://www.linuxmint.com/
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    whats the difference between Ubuntu and mint?
     
  11. BbigTree New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Well, both come from Debian, or better:

    Debian -> Ubuntu
    Debian -> Ubuntu -> Mint

    It does not matter which of those u choose, maybe since their origin is Debian.
    I would look at their way to handle the desktop, which is quite different, aka different desktop environments (DE).

    It is true, that u can have all DEs if u choose, but the best user experience comes from the default installed DE.

    On a side note: If u like KDE more than Gnome (the largest Linux DEs out there) try OpenSUSE.org

    ~Bbig
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2013
    mDee, xvi and FreedomEclipse say thanks.
  12. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,576 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    318
    So it's saying that UEFI needs the 64-bit version, and doesn't mention anything about non-UEFI hardware? I don't see what the question is.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    Been looking at Cinnamon, I think its definitely one i will try first!! thanks for everyones input
     
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I run it and its pretty cool. Here's a screen shot from when I was running it on my A64 x2 rig.

    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS running Cinnamon

    [​IMG]
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Linux Mint has got Cinnamon by default (switching DE is tricky for newbies, IMHO).
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Florida
    you can get it via a gadget called conky iirc but i think cinnamon has gadgets installed by default they just need to be enabled.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    So i got mint installed...

    Looking at how to configure it and stuff and boy oh boy is it gonna take me a while to figure my way around this OS...

    Im gonna need someone to walk me through the steps about how to optimise Linux for SSD, Ive got a guide up and im reading it but im still lost.


    ----


    Oh my god there is so much code to configure. part of me is wondering if i can be arsed trying to learn to use this.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2013
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,298 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Depends on what you're configuring, but yes, in the end almost all configuration is some form of text file. It takes getting used to. The terminal becomes your best friend if you really want to tweak, optimize, manage your system though.

    There are a number of people, myself included, that can offer some assistance if you have any questions.
     
    hellrazor says thanks.
  20. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,576 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    318
    This, this, this, and more this. Fucking learn it.
     
    Vinska and Aquinus say thanks.
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,298 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This is what I was feeling deep down inside but I kept my feelings to myself as Freedom is just learning. I wouldn't be so aggressive on the topic but you do need to learn to use the terminal if you want to do anything useful in *nix IMHO... granted what I consider "useful" is everything Windows can't do or doesn't do well.
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,708 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    Is there any guides with terminal commands and stuff that i can read? :p
     
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,962 (7.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,195
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    This will become evident to all new Ubuntu users when they attempt to put a shortcut on their desktop, realise they cant unless they load up terminal and dump a few hundred lines of code to make that one shortcut.

    I run Ubuntu 12.04 LTE on my VM's
     
  24. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    http://ss64.com i use this sometimes as a quick reference guide to any of the cmd lines i have to get on, but its not a huge help when learning out of the gate...

    check some youtube tut's...

    the best way i learned was needing to do something different on my system and then either google or youtube to see how others do it and learn the ins and outs of those commands, then move to the next issue/change

    its a lot of fun
     
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I downloaded them. The program is Screenlets.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page