1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Noobie question.

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by noeyjerd, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. noeyjerd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I am playing Simcity my computer keeps going to a black screen and saying "no signal" I know that is a sign of the video card overheating but I don't have that problem with ANY other game and when I check the temps in my radeon 6950's CCC it says the temp is getting to 75. I know that is a little high but it is perfectly acceptable temps. I just downloaded GPU-Z and the temp says the same thing but there are also 2 other temps. Temp#2 and #3. 2 is at 88 and temp 3 is at 93 while running furmark. With fans at 100%. What temps do I go by? Just the core? The temp that shows on the CCC or do I go by all 3 of them? In that case, they are overheating? It only gets that hot in furmark. I am in simcity now and all 3 temps are in the 60s.
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I dont have that game but its widely recognised and reported to having issues anyway, including a memory leak issue
    The temps go
    1core
    2shaders
    3imc memory controllers
    Afaik anyway which sounds about right given the temps you mention seems like its purely a bad coded game that's sending your gfxs mental, probably overworking the cards memory .
    Hope for a patch:( sos
    Again sos miss read, those temps for furmark make sense ish, bit hot and deff 95 is as high as id like them , im on a phone so can't see specs, if the cards old it might appreciate a clean out and re tim (fresh thermal interface material)
    Games deff dodgeily coded tho
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
    noeyjerd says thanks.
  3. noeyjerd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you for the fast reply..

    When the number 3 temps are at 90 that is the furmark going on.

    I get 60-75 temps with all 3 temps in Simcity and around the same thing in any other game but you are right. Simcity does have a lot of problems. I am not the only one with this problem. Also doesn't seem like a overheating thing because it only happens in certain spots.

    Error with SimCity 5 - YouTube a video of it.. I was just making 100% sure it wasn't my card overheating. I don't see those high 90s temps until I run furmark and even then I ran it for 2 hours and nothing happened earlier.

    The card is 2 years old. It is a radeon HD 6950
  4. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Sounds about right then dude.
    Id consider the tim , , your temps are fine but two years use and id re Tim just an opinion tho

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page