1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nooby Folder, help please

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by alexp999, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Okay, I have managed to follow the guides to get my GPU folding in the name of TechPowerup!
    But with the CPU client, its all setup, but I keep getting Core download errors, and NA on fahmon :confused:

    Thanks

    :toast:
     
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,859 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,446
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Do you have the -smp flag set in the shortcut properties?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yep.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,859 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,446
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Check the SMP folder and delete all cores except A0 & A1. Delete the work file also.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Ooh, I fixed, it, had to right click and run as administrator, then it worked! :D

    Can I put the CPU client in Fahmon too?

    EDIT:

    Oh wait, answered my own question, lol.

    Just one last thing, can I pause this or will the whole thing go to waste if I dont reach 100%?
     
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,859 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,446
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You can close the client and it will pick up where it left off. Sometimes it get's quirky and will start a new WU, but will finish the old WU after the new one.
     
    alexp999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Gdgd, I know I said last question, but I do have one more, lol.

    Is it normal for the CPU client not show any progress. It just says working, and fahmon reoprts 0% with a yellow icon. My cores are all on 100% tho.
     
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,859 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,446
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yes, it's normal. Your Q6600 should make quick work of SMP. You should finish 1% every 7-15 mins(depending on work unit).
     
    alexp999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Cool, well Im off to bed now, just completed one round on the GPU client with a PPD of 7846 (that good?).
    Will get it fired up again and folding on all 5 cores (lol) for TPU when I get back 2moro, thanks for the help!
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    SMP client has been going for over 1 and a half hours now and it still just says working. :confused:
     
  11. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,567 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    does it give anything else? like ese boost check? I dont know why but sometimes my SMP is freezing on that everytime i fire her up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page