1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Not all AMD Processors Support 'XP Mode' in Windows 7

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 7, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,450 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    A new feature of Microsoft's Windows 7 operating system that created a stir is its "XP mode" feature, where the operating system provides the user with a sandbox Windows XP desktop environment, complete with all its features, and application support. What makes the feature even more interesting that documents, settings, and XP-affine applications installed in the environment could be seamlessly integrated with the host Windows 7 environment.

    It turns out now that the feature explicitly requires hardware-level virtualization support. AMD and Intel, both have their proprietary virtualization features, although the two chose to make it available only to a few CPU models. Generally, entry-level desktop/mobile CPUs don't carry the feature. For consumer client desktop variants of Windows 7, the "XP mode" feature would require AMD-V feature by the processor. Currently all processors by AMD support this, except those from the Sempron series, according to an AMD spokesperson. For enterprise variants of the OS, Microsoft Enterprise Desktop Virtualization (MED-V) MED-V 2.0 builds on top of Windows Virtual PC and provides centralized management of Windows XP Mode. MED-V is a virtualization management platform. It will be made available within 90 days of the commercial availability of Windows 7.

    Source: CNET
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    Newegg search resulted in (virtualization available):
    AMD 19/23
    Intel 14/22

    so, more of the currently available AmD processors support virtualization than Intel has, then whats the deal with that title?
    did I miss something?
    Arkilae, blueskynis, suraswami and 4 others say thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    most AMD and most intel CPU's support virtualisation, except the budget chips.

    Considering that only the high end 7's (business, ultimate) even come with this support, i find it unlikely that an ultimate user is going to run a sempron, or E5200.
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    Phenom & Phenom II series of chips both support AMD-V
    Athlon 64 X2 chips with Brisborne and Windsor cores support AMD-V
    Current Opteron also support AMD-V

    thats basicly AMD's current lineup

    am sure many companys got many workstations with Intel Core 2 Quad Q8000 series chips that does not support hardware virtualization
    Last edited: May 7, 2009
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    Intel series with virtualization support:

    Dual core
    E6xx0
    E8xx0

    Q6xx0
    Q9xx0 (Excl Q9200)

    So the E2xx0, E5xx0 and E7xx0 and Q8xx0 series, have no virtualisation.
  6. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    OMFG!!!!!!!!!

    Bad headline.

    Theese dont support it either... i guess theyre from pretty much the same time.

    Pentium D?
    E7xxx
    E4xxx
    Pentium4
    e2x `?

    amd havnt done anything wrong, semprons are hard to find lol.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    some pentiums do, but i cant be stuffed looking at all the spec sheets to find out.
  8. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    DO not have :
    Core 2 Duo Mobile P7350/7450, Core 2 Duo Mobile T6400/6570, Core 2 Duo Mobile T5200/5250/5270/5300/5450/5470, Core 2 Quad Mobile Q9100, Core Duo T2050/2250, Core Duo T2300E/2350/2450, Core Solo T1350.

    thats some more.

    Think we've proved our point that this headline is incorrect.

    Well, by the looks of it, people who got their laptop for their work, cant run their crucial applications in xp mode.

    Well, isnt it just they who need it the most ?
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    very few, if any, mobile chips from AMD or intel will support this.


    You do realise that so very, very few programs will even need this?
  10. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    mm, depend on virtualization technology , so at this state most quad core and 64bit cpu's have virtualization technology so sounds better support with AMD
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I know someone has said this already, but "Not all AMD Processors Support 'XP Mode' in Windows 7" suggests it is an AMD only problem. Not true.

    Better to change the title "Not all processors support..." and then give examples.

    Most Intel Atom processors DO NOT support VT
    VIA? Maybe none of them...
    AMD...
    Intel...
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    to those complaining about the title, saying that it should say "amd and intel" or the like... its CNET's title. complain to them.
  13. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    My T7500 Supports VT-x.

    Gotta love my Merom :laugh:
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,279 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Ok they gave examples, and its the fact those CPUs dont support Virtualization, Even certain Intel CPUs dont support Virtualization. Fact is you can still use VMWare on CPUs that dont support Virtualization via CPU.
  15. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    For the kids at home:

    Here's a list of Intel desktop CPUs and whether they support virtualisation.

    And here's the list of mobile CPUs.

    Enjoy. :toast:


    EDIT: Those are obviously just the Intel ones. Someone, somewhere might have made a list of the AMD processors too.
  16. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    That sucks. at least all i7 CPUs support VT-x :roll:
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    you can use VMwares, but you cant use THIS feature of 7. its exclusive to hardware support.
  18. soryuuha New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Humm, a misleading title, as if current amd product (that is not EOL) does not have AMD-V ._.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    semprons (which are still for sale) and many of their mobile CPU's, do not support it.
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,475 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,430
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Saaaaawheeeeet! That means there should be zero backwards compatibility problems with trying to play XP games in Windows 7. That was really the only thing stopping me from getting it when it goes retail. It's great they finally allow newer operating systems to 100% virtualize previous operating systems on the hardware level without requiring additional software.

    It also means more of that silly "downgrade to Windows XP Professional" nonsense that we see with Vista Business machines today.


    It's kinda sad some processors don't have hardware virtualization support but hey, that's what you get for cutting corners when you buy a new processor. Virtualization is the future.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Websites like cnet have a tendency to spread panick among less knowledgeable users. Now some buyers and I mean business buyers will refuse to buy amd cpu's because of this.
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,475 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,430
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Businesses rarely change up their hardware and I doubt they'd really care about virtualizing XP on client machines anyway. If they needed XP, they would go straight to XP.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I wasn't meaning the whole business just using a business that might as an example.
  24. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    "XP Mode" requires virtualization, and if you don't buy a CPU that has virtualization technology you can't use "XP Mode"?

    Nope, seems pretty simple to me.
  25. soryuuha New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Emm..I didn't count Sempron, but you got the point at mobile CPU (anything older than Griffin) :lol:

    any idea if Athlon NEO platform (HP Dv2) support AMD-V?
    Last edited: May 7, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page