1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Not Detecting crossfire, Help?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Smallz750, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. Smallz750

    Smallz750 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello all. I am new to the forum, but this seems like the best place I can get the information I need or help on this matter. I have 2 HIS HD3870's installed on a ASUS Maximus formula mobo. My driver version for the 3870's is 8.453.0.0 for each card, I have ATI CCC version 8.2 installed, all on Vista Home Premium 64bit OS. In CCC I have crossfire enabled, but when I check it in GPU-Z version 0.1.6 it is showing disabled. I have checked everything possible to get it to actually enable crossfire on my system, but to no avail.

    If you need any other info on my system just let me know.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,679 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,078
    GPU-z is showing it wrong. Run a 3d06 benchmark and see what you get.
     
  3. Smallz750

    Smallz750 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well i get a 19200 and 19350 on 3d06 score so I am sure crossfire is working, I'm just wondering why in GPU-z it's showing disabled, when version 0.1.6 says it should detect is. :S
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,679 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,078
    It's working.:toast: Post in the GPU-Z forum your system specs and what isn't working.
     
  5. Smallz750

    Smallz750 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry posted twice. my bad. But my system specs are as follows.
    intel qx9650 o.c. to 3.8ghz
    ASUS Maximus formula mobo. bios version .0902
    2x HIS HD3870 drivers. .8.453.0.0
    4gbs OCZ DDR2 800mhz ram 4.4.4.15
    500gb seagate 7000.12 hdd 32mb cache
    avermedia pci-x1 tv tuner card
    Samsung Sh203 dvd burner
    LG GGC-H20L blu-ray/hd dvd rom
    Gateway FHD2400 lcd monitor
    Ultra X3 600watt psu


    Ok just ran 3d06 again and noticed it is not showing my hd3870's linked in xfire either. Not sure what to do now.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2008
  6. fsckit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have nearly the identical system and the same problem on GPU-Z 0.1.6

    Asus Maximus Formula (BIOS v0907)
    QX9650
    2x3870 (Sapphire)
    4Gb Corsair Dominator
    Catalyst 8.2
    Vista Ultimate 64 with all recommended & security patches as well as the Vista multi-GPU hotfixes

    My 3dmark06 score with CF on (according to CCC) is higher than without so that suggests that CF is working. However nothing but CCC says it's in CF mode.
     
  7. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Makes me wonder if there isn't something in the X38 chipset that negotiates CF without software help...

    You could try to install your CF as outlined in my thread. Plus, W1zz posted a test version on GPU-z that was specifically for this. He stated he would include this support in the next version.
     
  8. fsckit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the guide. I'll give that a try. I agree that something may seem fishy with the X38 chipset.

    I saw the note from W1zz about it being fixed in 'the next release' but I thought that was 0.1.6 (and the release notes for 0.1.6 make it sound like it should be fixed). Or is this something else for 0.1.7?
     
  9. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Hope you liked it! Let me know if there is anything you think could be clarified.

    We could make this a colaborative effort as I am preparing to port over to an X38 board soon.

    As far as the GPU-z thang, I can't keep up with revisions of stuff anymore. I just go with what works.:p

    *edit* Found the thread. Looks like it was supposed to make it into 0.1.6...

    Does the linked one work for you guys. It did for me!
     
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,890 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,642
    it seems that crossfire detection does not work on vista64
     
  11. GoatX12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Neither does Nvidia SLI detection on Vista64 Help PLEASE!
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page