1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Not detecting raptor 36GB

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Dia01, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Anyone provide advice?
    Trying to install a Raptor 36GB purely for Vista 64 OS only. In the bios it is only detecting my other Seagate 320GB drive. I am running an Asus 780i Striker II. Any ideas?
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,249 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    US
    Is your BIOS seeing it ?. If so chances are you need to format the HDD. If the BIOS is not detecting it which i am sure you checked all cables maybe swapping them out ?. All so check the BIOS that you are not telling the controller to use the drive as a raid setup as that will in some cases stop it showing up on bootup.
     
  3. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    All cables and bios settings fine. Pulled the drive out and noticed it had been damaged though, would have been from transit as I only recieved it yesterday. Gonna need a return.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    is SATA set to IDE or raid?
     
  5. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Set to IDE, raid is disabled. The drive makes a ticking noise upon start up, spins up for about 5 seconds then stops. The drives stuffed, there is notable damge to the front right hand corner, must have been dropped.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    is it under war?
     
  7. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia

    Yeah, only purchased it 3 days ago and it arrived yesterday. It'll be definately going back one way or the other, ashame really I was looking forward to seeing it work.
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    send it back and order another seagate 320gb for raid 0 it will be faster than the raptor :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page