1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Not really stable at 4ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by IINexusII, May 29, 2010.

  1. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    well im not good with overclocking amd, but below are my current settings. i cannot get more than 10mins of linpack or normal occt without it stopping with errors. anything i need to change? specs n all on <--

    [​IMG]

    temps are fine about 64c full load for awhile and 55c on the cores

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    bump CPU voltage up 1 notch also can we get a CPU-z shot of CPU and mem tab?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    maybe the temp is to high?
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    No, they are not. As pos said, time for a voltage bump, the rerun LinX.
  5. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thougth AMD said they shouldnt be above 62C
  6. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    ya. it would go about 70c now lol at 1.425v the core temps are around 57c max. which one should i believe? memory pics added
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    give it a tad of voltage to the CPU everything else looks ok. maybe try a mix of FSB and mulity. to get 4ghz
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    orginally the volts were at 1.38125 when it wasnt stable so its at 1.4125 and ive added abit to the cpu/nb to 1.225 bumpd the nb down to 1.25 running tests now
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You're right. My mistake. :toast: Should temps really be that high on that voltage with an H-50?
    REALIN says thanks.
  10. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    no it shouldnt really but aernt the thuban sensors supposed to be dodgy?
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    As stated before, try mixing some FSB clocking and lowering multi a tad. I have noticed that upping multi alone tends to need a touch more vcore than clocking fsb. Maybe try 19x211?
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    They are, but until you can get good readings, I wouldn't push past 62c, since you really never know.
  13. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I clocked my CPU with Asus TurboV from 3.0 to 3.5 GHz, but got problem to keep it stable at 3.6 without pushing vcore alot.

    [​IMG]

    What do you think I should increase?
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,126 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    1. Enable LLC in your bios (It will bump up your voltage under load a little helping stability)

    2. Set CPU voltage to about 1.4 (It will overvolt a bit with LLC on)

    3. NB to 1.225v

    3. HTT to 1.225v

    4. Set your NB freq. to at least 2600 as well as the HTT

    5. CPU/NB voltage to 1.35v (You may be able to back down)

    Here's the bad news. PII's when hot get unstable. Most likely your cooler just isn't doing it for you.
    REALIN says thanks.
  15. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks. :D

    My CPU is at 51C during full load with Corsair H50 at 3.6 ghz
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,126 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    That was more for the OP but it should work for you as well. :) Actually, your NB frequency can be left around 2000 with no ill effects.
    REALIN says thanks.
  17. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Haha oh ok, thought it was to me because you replied right after I posted. :banghead:
  18. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Since you seem to know exactly what you talking about, can you post similar to me to help me get closer to 4 ghz?

    I'm only good at the standard stuff, don't know much at all about anything else then cpu frenq/cpu ratio and cpu voltage.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,126 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    REALIN says thanks.
  20. REALIN

    REALIN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Okay, I'll take a look later on everything in that link of yours. :)

    So how much should I get stable do you think?

    I know my motherboard aint that good, didnt know I had a bad chip. Then I won't try as hard to reach 4 ghz.
  21. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    using erockers settings and switching back to stock h50 push pull fans instead of dual akasa apache (about 75c on full linpack load)
    [​IMG]

    it could have been the temp unstability problem that you were talking about that helped with switching back to the old fans, but thanks alot :)
    Last edited: May 29, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page