1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

not seeing the "discuss in our forums" icon again

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Easy Rhino, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    This time I attached a screenshot...

    [​IMG]
     
  2. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Some browser information would be useful. I see it fine in Chrome 35 on that exact page.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
  3. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    843 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    south korea
    I could see in fine in palemoon browser x64
     
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    chrome 35. windows 8.1
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,559
    turned off adblock ? and other addons

    could also be the social buttons that are located in the same container, some addon might be blocking that
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  6. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    589 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    It's fine in Firefox 30.0
     
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    It is indeed adblock. Is there a way that that element can be changed so that it is not seen as an ad????
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,652 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    I turn adblock off for this site. There only seems to be two unobtrusive ads on the front page anyways.
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    oh i didnt know i could turn it off for certain sites. thanks!
     
  10. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    You're using the same exact configuration as I. I don't think it's Adblock related because it shows up for me with or without Adblock enabled. I would check other addons you may be using.
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,559
    You can look at the rules that adblock matched on the reviews page, then delete or disable that rule

    And yes people, you can turn off Adblock for specific sites. We are pushing companies for less and less annoying ads, many are even non-animated now, and we have only three banner spots, so show your appreciation.
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,269 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    GMT +2
    :respect::respect::respect:
    when we talking about adds
    sometimes adds overlap big size pictures from articles and make next button unusable.
    does anyone else have similar problem. i havnt paid attention which exact add is doing it but i can start if it is needed thou it will take time since it doesnt happen very often
     
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    Oh, I had adblock enabled because a few sites were terrible. not tpu though.
     
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,867 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,144
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    YES! Somebody else with this issue. If you click on an image from a new news story, that damned Sea Sonic banner on the right overlaps the image popout window so you can't see half the image!
     
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,559
    Is this still happening? I coded our own ad server a few weeks ago which puts all flash banners in transparent mode so they shouldn't overlap anymore
     
    ne6togadno and RCoon say thanks.
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,867 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,144
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I haven't noticed it in a while, but I do recall it happening quite some time ago, so I would assume it's been fixed.

    Thanks
     
  17. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,269 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    GMT +2
    ya i too hevnt noticed it happened lately.
    i also tried yesterday to reproduce the problem but everything was fine.
    thx
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page