1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

not so good water cooling temps -i7 920

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by deadlyrhythm, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Fans are at 75% and the pc is on idle.

    40 deg for the CPU, NB & Mosfets?

    Should my temps be better?

    The only thing i cant think of is to much thermal compound perhaps?

    here is a screen bellow

    Attached Files:

  2. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    got any pics of the setup?
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    perhaps accurate system specs and some relevant information?

    If you are trying to cool your CPU, chipsets, Mosfets with just a 120mm and a slow fan then yes you might have issues.

    But again, more information, or pics!
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Is it the same setup you have here:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=113620

    No offense Deadly, you did a wonderful job but I would be a little concerned with the position of your vid res. Maybe I'm not seeing it right but it looks to me as it's system pressure transfering the coolant towards your pump and not gravity... IDK :confused:
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2010
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Do NOT evaluate your temps at idle. Do a LinX or OCCT linpack run, and post a screenie during the run when the cpu is 100%. That's how we can tell if your temps are appropriate or not.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,160 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    +1 to PaulieG, I heard that Intel's sensors are unreliable at low temps.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  7. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Sorry for the vagueness.

    Ok so here's what i'm running:

    THE CPU LOOP IS SEPARATE FROM THE GPU LOOP

    PC parts

    i7 920
    evga classified x58 sli
    gskill 1600 3x3gb ram

    WC parts

    EK full motherboard nickle WB
    WaterCool HeatKiller 3.0 lt
    black ice 360 rad
    EK full spin bay res
    mcp355 + ek clear accetal top
    artic silver 5

    [​IMG]
  8. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    i hear, which is why it was so difficult to get the loop flowing, but i managed by sub-merging and tilting the case and res upside down.

    those temps i believe are alright, 30-40's idle for the gpu

  9. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Looks good to me. I had a 120.3 just on my cpu and it idled upper 30s. I'm guessing your load temps reach mid to high 70's if not peaking just over 80 on maybe core 0.

    Load test it and let see whats going on, if your way out of my speculation then I'll be surprised.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Exactly what I was saying. We can only evaluate with load temps.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  11. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    I was just wondering because my single loop (pump->rad->cpu->gpu->res) is running at 26C at idle and 36-38 at full load while gaming
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,088 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Location:
    Florida
    O/T i was just inspired to say that is a crazy awesome wc loop GJ
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  13. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    well here is the a cpu stress test pic. i was stressing the gpu at the same time using Fur Bench and for the cpu prime95.

    max temp is around 55 deg Celsius for the CPU @ 100% load

    max temp is around 44 deg Celsius for the GPU @ 100% load

    Attached Files:

  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Don't use Coretemp, try out realtemp. But even if using Coretemp they still aren't that bad at all.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  15. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    hmm, well my gpu is 4870x2 and hitting about 44 deg celsius @ 100% load which is being cooled by a danger den WB and tfx 240 rad with 2 enermax fans.

    what kind of rad do you have cooling your whole loop?

  16. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Don't forget loosenut, you are also on a 955BE which they run a little bit cooler.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  18. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    True.

    Don't get me wrong everyone, I'm not trying to win a pissing contest here. I just wanted to point out my concern for the positioning of his GPU res.

    I still think he did a phenominal job at putting all this together in such limited space and for that I applaud you Deadly :toast:
    deadlyrhythm and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  19. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You mean 3X2GB right?

    Just like everyone already said, get your load temps and then go from there;)

    NVM, I saw that you already did. Not really bad temps IMHO.
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I have my i7's at 4.0ghz, water cooled on an open bench (Sunbeam Ultra). Your temps are a little high, as mine are similar to yours despite a 4.0ghz OC and 1.27v. Try overclocking yours slightly, maybe around 3.6ghz and try for 1.24v or so, then run LinX. That will give us a better idea. My loop consists of:

    EK Supreme HF
    EK Coolstream 240 rad
    655 Vario pump
    Gentle Typhoon 1150 RPM's

    I'm only cooling the CPU right now.

    [​IMG]
    deadlyrhythm says thanks.
  21. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    will try that and repost. thanks!

  22. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Is everything at stock volts ?

    whats in the loop with the cpu ?

    what are your room temps ?
  23. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    so u have 5 120mm fans pushing air out + psu? or is the cpu radiator's 3 fans pulling air in?<--if not, then maybe try reversing them to pull air in instead of pushimg it out!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario


    i got distilled water and room temp is like 20-22c

    stock volts,
  25. deadlyrhythm

    deadlyrhythm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    i got a a xchanger 360 on the top cooling the MB + CPU with 3x Panaflo fans


    an xchanger 240 on the bottom cooling the GPU with 2x enermax fans


    all fans a pushing air through the rad out of the case

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page