1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Note- 4850 CROSSFIRE AND CERTAIN SETUPS DO NOT WORK WITH 8.10 (HOTFIXED)/8.11

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Drizzt5, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Even with my single card, i had issues with a flashed BIOS Tatty. I gave up and just did the hard-vmod, and use Riva to clock now. I'm on 8.10's, atm.
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Strange, I have had no issues at all on a single card, and strangely enough, on the single, without BIOS flash I could exceed the 735 upper limit with Rivatuner, as soon as 2 cards are in, without the flash, anything above 735 with rivatuner crashes, I think I will just end up eventually flashing back (again) and going with 2 cards at 735 24/7, thats gotta be faster than one card at 800 but I just really HATE not getting the most out of my hardware, there just has to be a fix somewhere :cry:
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,579 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,267
    ask the devs of Rivatuner/Ati Traytools
  4. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    8.7 was the first one that started giving me problems, 8.6 worked fine though:)
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  5. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I'm using 8.7 and it's been nothing but good since I started this thread.

    Tatty, I heard from somewhere that someone couldn't flash past 735 with there crossfired 4850's, but could do past 800 with single cards. I have yet to pencil mod my other 4850, but i know my one 4850 was doing 800 for benching and 750 for daily usage. Maybe it is driver's now, they don't like the high clocked 4850's :/
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    The more I think about it the more I reckon your spot on, I have tried absolutely everything and conclude you cannot flash higher upper limits on cards in crossfire, on that rare occasion I have got it to work for a few seconds before BSOD even with upper limits flashed to 800, I get error messages in any bench above 735 so it has to be driver/software restriceted, ATi probably dont want 4850's in Xfire overclocked so much as they compete with the 4870x2 which in a way makes sense but is frustrating, even at 735 in XFire I can hit almost 24,000 points which is near to 4870x2 territory............ looks like a flash back is on the cards.
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,579 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,267
    You Would have to Reverse Engineer ATI Drivers like Omega Does, along with what Team UniAn Used to do.
  8. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    You probably can hit higher the 735 with older drivers right? I know I've seen a few clocked higher then 735 back when I bought my first one and they were in crossfire.

    "ATi probably dont want 4850's in Xfire overclocked so much as they compete with the 4870x2 which in a way makes sense but is frustrating"

    They better not be purposely doing that. If I'm sacrificing my warranty for this I shouldn't have drivers designed to keep me low. They should spend more time working on getting the 4850 crossfire to work in the first place without all this hassle.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Speaking of which, has anyone tried using Omegas or nghq drivers?
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Nope, even in 8.11 and 8.12 on the 2 occasions I actually got them to work (before restarts led to BSOD after they were working) even with the modded BIOS to 800 with overdrive disabled and clocking both cards in Rivatuner they errored all the way from 800 down to 740, as soon as I dropped to 735 they worked.
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    I took a look at their sites today, I could not see any recent modded drivers, the last i think i found were 8.9's.
  12. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Thats what I mean, drop back down the 8.6-8.7 drivers

    If you have the time, drop down to those drivers and test with 800 both flashed and OC'd in rivatuner. I have a feeling it will work.
  13. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    No already tried it with 8.7.........could not enbale crossfire without BSOD with modded BIOS, the only time it has consistently worked for me was on 8.11 without modded BIOS.
  14. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    hmm, idk... I could of sworn I saw people with 800 core with 4850's in crossfire...
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Did you try modding the bios without updating the Overdrive profile? Just flash the clocks to 800, and leave all other settings alone.
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Hmmmm never thought of that, so you reckon if i flash to, lets say to be safe....775 the card will still boot even though the upper limit is 735? I would have thought the driver would have gone....wtf? pfffft......dead??
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Find em.....find.....em......then find them again!
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Not if you leave Overdrive disabled I think. At least that's the way it was with my 2900. Haven't tried with this 4850 yet.
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  19. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    Flashing above the overdrive limits does work. it just says on the overdrive part of catalyst that "overdrive something has not been initiated" or something like that.

    I did it on my HD2600, so unless they have changed something then it should work.
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    I'll give it a try then! I will do it one at a time and boot up with the one card just to make sure all is well......I'll report back tomorrow!
  21. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Is there an agreed upon method that will get 8.12 to work with 4850 crossfire?
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Dont know, I have RMA'd one of the cards, should have a new one back in about 5 days, i'll let you know then as I will be trying the method above.
  23. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    bump?
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    I know Asus just released a new bios for the Maximus, supposedly fixing 4850 crossfire. Isn't there also an 8.12 hotfix?
  25. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    NOTE- I LIED! lol


    I found a way to get my 4850 crossfire working with 8.12!!

    I need to add to this though!!

    While installing the 8.12's over the 8.10 you will experience a brief blueness on your screen that might cause you to die. This is called a BSOD. IGNORE IT! and then proceed to disable the ATI EXTERMAL EVENTA.

    This works for me and I have crossfire enabled!!! I did it on a fresh install of windows pissta.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page