1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NTLDR is missing

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sucka-free-sunday!, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. sucka-free-sunday! New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    sc
    First of all I can't tell you how many things I've tried getting my computer at least to install windows. Let me start by saying that COMP-USA doesn't help for crap unless you give them your life (and 100$ to cover if your life isn't covered by a money back guarentee). The first problem I have and willl probably have is the HARD ERROR: C0000221 problem before windows installs. Its been said that its most likely a RAM problem. Not in this case. I've tried 4 different brands of ram and thus far I've been told to stick with CORSAIR 512MB. The next thing is the NTLDR is missing - Press CTRL+ALT+DEL to continue. I'm using the overpraised Lanparty Sli-d. On startup the memory controller's IRQ is N/A?? BTW I put two 512's in my other Gateway and it's running sweeter than ever :). Whats the dillio?
     
  2. gerrynicol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    758 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland, Falkirk
    The NTLDR is usually because windows is not installed, try setting the boot choice so that the comp boots from CD first, it has "usually" been this in my experience.

    Gerry.
     
  3. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Yeah, also the hard drive may not be set up properly in the BIOS, if you set a hard drive to "no device" or equivalent in the BIOS you would think it would be like you didn't even connect it, but XP's installer will find the drive and install onto it, but when you do that first restart the BIOS won't boot from that drive because it's turned off.

    Since you're getting the "NTLDR is missing" error I would guess you have 2 hard drives, one of them has a working master boot record and the other one has windows on it and is not set up in the BIOS.

    Also, don't give up, DFI motherboards are awesome, I went ASUS because I wanted a fanless chipset but man I sure miss my Lanparty B
     
  4. sucka-free-sunday! New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    sc
    windows not installed

    Changed the motherboard to a BFG nForce4 Ultra so I could get a few bucks off of my credit card :D. But i'm getting the same messages as before during windows install. (i only have one hdd, and this is first attempt to install xp pro sp2)
    HARD ERROR: C0000221 when trying to install and error code 0x0000008e...:banghead:
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,600 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,877
    Location:
    Florida
    have u tried a fresh reinstall as in did u wipe the drive or try to copy over the old files?
     
  6. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
  7. nyioo7@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    55 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    rewrite the boot.ini file with the right partition manually.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page