1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NTSC console on PAL TV

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by MRCL, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    So yesterday I welcomed a Japanese Gamecube in my console family. Its been hardmodded to play US/JAP games using a switch, and with the help of Freeloader also EU games can be played.

    Now, the Gamecube being Japanese, it uses NTSC, which is as we know operating at 60hz.
    My TV, being European and all, is PAL, so 50hz.

    Now I'm aware that just like that it doesn't work (or lead to the dreaded NTSC50). But my TV is also 60hz capable. So in theory, on a hardware level, it should work.

    Well it doesn't. I used the standard Gamecube Composite cables, both on the front TV inputs and via SCART adapter on both back slots. Result is a greyscale picture when attempting to play US games. And Mariokart Double Dashs Rainbow Road looks rather not rainbow-ish in grayscale.

    A solution to try would be hooking the Gamecube to the TV via S-Video (I have the proper cables). Now my TV doesn't have a native S-Video input, and I don't have an adapter.

    Would this one work? Or should I not even bother.

    If it wouldn't work, what other steps could one perform without actually getting a new TV?
    Note that I use a tube TV for all my old consoles. Also note that I'm aware of the fact that some Gamecube games have the option to select the Hertz value on boot, but some doesn't, and I want to play all games in color, not just some.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,628 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    it wont work that way. you're changing resolution and refresh rate, so if the TV doesnt support it, no go.


    you could try on a HDTV, as they're more likely to support all the standards. you're pretty much SOL if you dont want to replace the TV.
     
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Yeah but as said my TV supports both 50 and 60hz. Would it still not work?

    Yeah I could but that would be my last resort as I'm not to keen about playing non-HD games on a HDTV.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,628 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    no because you only support ONE of the required features. the resolution change is whats screwing you over here.
     
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    So how come the US games on my modded PAL Saturn play just fine?

    This is just too complicated... also it seems that old school TVs aren't around that much anymore, who would've thought.
     
  6. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,038 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,427
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    Wii should play your Gamecube imports.
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    If a tv supports 50/60hz it should support 576i and 480i because those are the standards for tv signal. Most tvs in Europe do and did support NTSC and PAL, im pretty sure a tv that supports PAL 60 will support NTSC resolution too. If you can let us know what resolution the Saturn is outputting at 60hz then you will know if your tv supports NTSC or is just outputting PAL 60.

    I have a feeling the cable your using is the problem, do you not have any regular AV composite cables to test?

    If your really hardcore you can get component cables for the Gamecube i don't think they made PAL games support 480p but some of the PAL Gamecubes do have digital out like mine, NTSC games supported 480p.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,628 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    theres variations, like NTSC-J


    NTSC and PAL arent the only two, theres also SECAM and variations of pal/NTSC.

    this is why HDTV was a big deal, it made the same standards work worldwide.
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Pretty sure all PAL TVs support SECAM which is French. NTSC-M and NTSC-J have minor differences the resolution and refresh rate is the same though.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,628 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    yeah but its those minor differences that would be screwing him over, i'm not an expert in what those differences are.
     
  11. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    And my PS2 can play my Ps1 games, yet I play the latter on my PS1 ;)

    I found the manual for the TV online, it specificly says it does not support NTSC. So i don't think the cables are an issue. The Saturn is originally a PAL console so I suspect thats why it works.

    SECAM is even worse than NTSC. France and Russia use it, and a few other borderline 3rd world countries.

    Yes all PAL TVs support SECAM.

    I think the TV has to handle the different resolutions. PAL has more pixels to work with (an extra 100 lines iirc), and if a TV doesn't handle NTSC resolution, it doesn't know what to do with it.

    So far on my HDTV, the Gamecube works flawlessly. And I checked some craigslist sites, seems tube TVs are more scarce than expected. I found one for the price of a loaf of bread, and it specificly handles NTSC.
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Okay so your Saturn is running in PAL 60 not NTSC that explains why the Gamecube wont display in NTSC. Its a Japanese Gaemcube so you can pick up Japanese component cables but might be expensive so might want to avoid.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page