1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nVidia 177.92 BETAs

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Arctucas, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,775 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hmm, nice!

    Downloading now
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Only newsies and staff can start posts in the news section. If you wanted to get stuff in the news, use the submission form on the front page.
    But stuff like beta driver releases can be kept to the forums. ;)

    Nice find though, wonder what they will be like. I swear the .83's caused me to reduce my OC :wtf:
     
  4. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Grabbed them..thanks for the heads up. :)
     
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    wtf, it says whql in the release highlights but its a beta...?

    just an FYI, they are also on the forcewithin site. still beta though.

    EDIT:

    Another tip for those guys of you installing (this may only apply to Vista) but there is a bug:

     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  6. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Anyone test these yet, vs. 177.83? Any improvements over those?
     
  7. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    This driver is stable and performs really well. Some users have reported problems with the drivers ability to detect games. If your AA/AF settings in your game-profile don't seem to work, then add the .exe file of the game manually. That should do the trick for COD4 and a couple of other games that might not get recognized.
     
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    did this support physics too like older one
     
  9. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Yep.
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Hence why this one is also ~120mb :rolleyes: (crazy!)

    Gonna give it a go now.

    Do people updating nvidia drivers got into safe mode after uninstalling and run driver cleaners?

    i used to for ati, cus they left tonnes of files after unintsall (wtf), but nvidia's uninstaller only leaves like 3 registry's behind.

    Do I need to bother? or is uninstall, reboot, install reboot enough?

    :toast:
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I uninstall, reboot, run driver sweeper, install, reboot, configure
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Isn't it 99MB? :confused:
     
  13. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    I just double click - away you go..... The unistaller/installer has worked every time.
     
  14. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Size differs between OS's
     
  15. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    I delete video drivers in safe mode. Then reboot into windows and install new ones. Works fine.
     
  16. ..'Ant'..

    ..'Ant'.. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    294 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    █♣█
    Yep :) --->

    ;)
     
    ntdouglas says thanks.
  17. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    I dont even use a drive cleaner. I boot windows in safe mode, remove all nvidia drivers, reboot and check for anything leftover, then install new drivers. ;)
     
  18. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Isn't this the same as the one's from guru3d?
     
  19. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Eeuhm...guru3d doesn't build drivers, it's just another community.

    Now go to the guru3d forums and say "isn't this the same as the one's from techpowerup?" :D
     
  20. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Just checked inf's - yes they are the same.
    While back when newest drivers was 8 & up only, Guru3D as well as me used to mod them to add support for sub 8 cards. This time full 6 & up support directly from Nvidia. ;)
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
  21. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Ermm.. :wtf: I was saying that isn't it the same as the ones Pag linked on the other thread?
    "GTX280 Teaser drivers" or this is a newer .92 version/release?

    EDIT: Thank you pag, you beat me to it... lol
     
  22. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Oh, excuse me :p
     
  23. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,775 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    I did see the 177.92 posted on Guru3D, but I linked to the nVidia site. I am not sure if Guru3D is hosting the drivers, or if they are merely linking to nVidia as well.

    I honestly did not look at the other thread, since I do not have a 280 or 260.

    As far as the "modded" drivers pagalms referred to, I must have missed those.

    Anyway, here is a link to the original thread on the Guru3D site for those who are interested:http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=271676
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page