1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nVidia 320.18 drivers killing GPUs?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by ViperXTR, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ive only seen this issue on first gen Fermi cards, and good riddance, those cards are junk anyways.
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Again :banghead:
     
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Been using 320.18 drivers for days, no issues whatsoever tho :confused:

    Running overclocked cards also.

    1202 MHz Core and 7 GHz memory.
     
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I have been using 320.18 about 1 day after it was released. I have used my Desktop with GTX 670/660 for about 3 hours total with no problems, but no gaming. I mostly use my laptop. I'm not going to uninstall, yet.
     
  6. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    Doesn't this come up every few driver releases? I keep seeing this complaint but never see anything concrete or scientific come out of it, probably why it's never a big news story.
     
  7. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Australia
    I had strange 'barcoding' of textures in some games with 320.18. Had to rollback to 314.22.
     
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I'm glad I haven't gotten round to installing it yet. As I've got a GTX 590 which can be easily damaged through overstress, it might be extra prudent to leave it out.

    In fact, I don't overclock any of my graphics cards to avoid potentially damaging them.
     
  9. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL
    I over clock the heck out of my cards. When I spend 2 grand on new cards I want them to run as fast as possible. I do have water blocks on both so they can take it. Spending money like I did for two GTX 690s and not water cooling them and then not over clocking them should be against the law....lol that is like haveing a Porsche 911 turbo with a VW engine in it. O wait it does... VW owns Porsche.. Still you get my point.....;)
     
  10. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Are my two GTX 550 Ti's in SLI safe?
     
  11. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Whether you overclock them like that or not really boils down to money and how much you can afford to replace a destroyed card. Most of us are not as rich as you and have to take care of our stuff.

    Those waterblocks will keep the temperatures down, but the VRMs, GPU and other components are still getting massively stressed out from the out of spec extra voltage and clock speed and will die a lot sooner than stock speeds. Don't kid yourself that they "can take it" forever.
     
    ViperXTR says thanks.
  13. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    after installing this shitty driver. i had an unexpected experience with "no display" after bios booting for around 10 - 15 secs also image corruption on GRID 2, it looks like my card got an artifact.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  14. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,379 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    I've had no problem with my GTX 670. I'm not to worries about it.
     
  15. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I lost over 1k score in FFXIV ARR benchmark, because of this shite driver.
     
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    It makes you wonder how crap like this gets WHQL certified, doesn't it? What does it say about Microsoft's driver quality testing? Can't be too hot, can it?
     
  17. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,333 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    No issues here. Had one single gfx glitch in BF3 but it wasn't repeated. If anything, my set up seems more stable now from the previous ones.
     
  18. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,280
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Been running it on the 780 since I got the card, no complaints, although me and UnholyWar crash in League of Legends at the start of every single match due to incompatibilities with 320.18. Everything else has run perfectly. Done a lot of gaming, seems solid. PLEASE FIX THE LoL ISSUE!
     
  19. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    197 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I've had twice the problem that happens with bf3, other games work fine though. and if I rma it(if the problem stays) will they accept it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,333 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    You can't RMA it if it's a driver problem (normally). Just roll back to previous drivers.

    It's a pain in the ass when a driver releases that should be stable but the problem is normally incompatibility with something else (which i guess is what the WHQL is meant to sort out).

    I prefer these to the previous beta's and the previous WHQL. Doesn't mean they're not 'faulty' though - just means it's luck of the draw which is kind of run of the mill for driver releases.
     
  21. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    526 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Battlefield 3 can't have problems because Battlefield 3 itself is a problem.
     
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,521 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070
    Location:
    Mexico
    Microsoft doesn't test the drivers with cards if that's what you're thinking, they just look at the code to see if it conforms to WDM.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yes, I was thinking that they actually tested it with sample hardware. Clearly WHQL certification has its limits and a junky driver can still sail through.
     
    Knight091 says thanks.
  24. centaurius

    centaurius

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Since when software damages hardware like this is intended to show... in a driver update?

    I have 318.20 with different sli with a 560TI+560 no problems at all.
     
  25. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    I don't have any issues but I do extremely clean installs, deleting every folder, file, and registry entry made by nvidia before updating. That helps with some issues.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page