1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia 3d surround only supporting three monitors with exact specs?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by sol.fides, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. sol.fides

    sol.fides New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    65 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merrit BC
    I'm a little perturbed: :wtf:

    "All displays must have the same resolution, refresh rate, and sync polarity"

    :banghead::cry:

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/3DV_System_Requirements_Surround_Technology.html

    Can anyone verify this? I was planning on going fermi to power a thirty between two landscaped twenties. I'm a folder so this really throws a wrench in my side. What to do? where do I contact for confirmation? figured you guys would know better than the nvidia forums.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    sounds even fussier than eyefinity?
  3. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Same resolution is also needed for eyefinity (for the moment, at least).

    Refresh rate and sync polarity makes sense because you'll be using shutter glasses for the stereo 3D.
    I doubt these two will be required for 2D surround, though.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    sync polarity is what worries me, how does one achieve that?
  5. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Scratch my last post.
    The polarity sync and refresh rate is a must for surround mode, without 3D.

    So yeah, it's a lot fussier than eyefinity.
    You can tell that Eyefinity was a well-thought feature while surround vision was something rushed to market.
  6. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,911 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    i just enabled it last night with 2 monitors of different resolutions. what it did was cut the bigger one to only display as much as is on the smaller one (like an underscan) but it did technically work with two different sized(resolution) screens
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    You CAN'T enable eyefinity with 2 monitors you need 3 of them for eyefinity
    what you got with 2 monitors is Hydravision

    As far as i know anyways...;)


    As for nvidia 3D Vision does it require 2 graphic cards (2xGTX2x0) to enable it , unlike ATI which can do it with only one card?
  8. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,911 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    i see. i can do the same exact thing as eyefinity though, just with 2 monitors and a different name? I can display on three monitors with this one card but if i try to extend the third into the group it errors...

    the reason you don't use two monitors is FPSs, or anything where you aim down the center. as the center is split.

    as for 3d vision, idk - but i know to power three monitors you need 2 cards, only 2 ports active per card.
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  9. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i have to say you might be wrong about that.. but i was able to stretch eyefinity across a 1680x1050 and 1920x1080 monitor with no troubles, it just looks funny lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page