1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia 8800GTS Resolution issues (Need Help), I am about to go back to ATI!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by WebViper, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. WebViper

    WebViper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I went from a ATI SAPHRE X1800XT 256MB Video Card to the MSI NX8800GTS-T2D640E 320-bit 640MB.

    The issue I am having is Digital Video Resolution.

    The ATI would let me run 1280 X 720 75hz on my Samsung 225BW 22" 16:10 widescreen.
    The Nvidia will not offer me the Digital Resolutions that the ATI would. 1280 X 960 60hz is the best I can do and it is not as crisp as the 75hz res if the ATI and the images are stretched out.

    The card is fast in gaming. But In HalfLife 2 it will only let me run 1900 X 900 in 16:9 or 10 widescreen. The ATI would offer the 1280 X 720 75hz.

    The only change is the Video Cards. What can I do to get more Video Resolution options from this Nvidia 8800GTS? As it is now I am ready to put it on ebay and go back to ATI.

    Here is the Resolution options offered by the Nvida card.
    800X600 75hz
    1024X768 75hz
    1152X864 75hz **** Clean but Photos are stretched out! (I know I am not that FAT!)
    1280X960 60hz OK but small to read!
    1280X1024 60hz
    1600X900 60hz
    1680X1050 60hz +++ Very clean and the photos are not stretched out but can't read text!

    Regards,

    WebViper

    My system:

    MSI K8N NEO4 Platinum NF4U 939 Motherboard
    MSI NX8800GTS-T2D640E 320-bit 640MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
    Samsung 225BW 22" 16:10 widescreen aspect ratio
    AMD|A64 X2 4400+ 2.2G 939 2x1MR CPU
    2GB DDR 400 SDRAM DDR (PC 3200)
    160GB Seagate Barracuda SATA 7200RPM Hard Drive
    DVD BURNER BENQ|DW1655
    DVD-ROM SONY 16X DDU1615/B2s
    ASPIRE X-SUPERALIEN CASE with 500W Power Supply
     
  2. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
  3. WebViper

    WebViper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes the native res of the monitor is 1680x1050. The text is so small it is hard to read for me. It is just sad that the ATI res was much more workable. It is no doubt that the 8800 is the fastest card. I guess I need to pick real work or games. Hmmmm
     
  4. jjnissanpatfan

    jjnissanpatfan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    208 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    vt
    I'm not sure how but you can change the the font size for windows,so you leave it at 1680x1050 then make the icons and the font size bigger.
     
  5. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Right click on your desktop display/Appearance than go to font size, if you want bigger fonts while browsing the web use firefox and hit ctrl + or - for sizes.

    Edit: in firefox you can also edit your default font size for browsing in Tools/options elc. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Yeah, it is best to run at the native resolution, just up the text size in Windows.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    I thought all LCD's ran at 60 Hertz.
     
  8. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Not all. Some run at 75Hz but it still depends on how big the resolution is and what are you running through. DVI? Or Analog.
     
  9. WebViper

    WebViper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am running DVI - 100% Digital.

    For the people telling me to go MAX res and up the font and Icons. I tried and it looks like crap. The best I can get is 1280 X 960 60hz. In HL2 it runs 1900 X 900. I get 150 - 250 FPS in the game. It rocks but when I do REAL work things are not quite right.
     
  10. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    1st check the drivers which you're using, if needed reinstall them and see if it solves.
    It isn't the brand fault, it maybe the card. You know you could rma it...
    About res, are you adjusted i.e worked for long times with the 1280 res and then suddenly switched to a higher res ? This may look a lil wierd too at first, things become too small and such :ohwell: but it goes perfect after some usage ;)
    The main case maybe the drivers, check them out first before even blaming poor 'ol nVidia :laugh:
     
  11. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
  12. WebViper

    WebViper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Agility,

    Thanks your link made me look and gave me the answer that I was looking for. It also opened up a NEW question.

    What I found out was this. I did not change cables when I installed the video card. I was using the DVI cable "Digital" on the ATI and had 1280 X 720 75hz. With the 8800 this was not an option. I changed over to the analog cable and BOOM! I was back!

    1280 X 720 75hz... I am no longer that fat in photos! My text is good when I do real work and HL2 is back larger and my kill rate is back up! Their is truly a GOD!

    The question now is Digital Vs Analog?

    If Analog has so many more options why limit your self and go Digital?

    Thanks all for the help.

    Regards,
    WebViper
    Come play with us at Server IP 70.86.96.2:27015
    WebViper.com

    SubNote.... I could put the URL to my hosting company but that would be self serving!
     
  13. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Have you tried going back to DVI to see?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page