1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Admits to Data Corruption Issues with 790i Chipset

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    NVIDIA has admitted that its new nForce 790i chipset may cause data corruption when overclocking. A support article on the company’s website says:
    Unfortunately NVIDIA hasn’t revealed any workarounds or specific details on what causes the data corruption, so it may be best for 790i owners to run at stock speeds until a solution is found.

    Source: NVIDIA
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Glad I didn't pick up that Striker Extreme board! Glad to see that Nvidia admitted to it!
     
  3. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    The "success" story of the post-NF4 nVidia chipsets continues!
    First, the all-mighty NF4, which has almost no Vista support when it comes to networking or RAID...
    Second, the NF5, which is the old NF4 with a brand new sticker. Marketing rules!
    Then the NF6, the "Prescott" of nVidia, a chipset so good, you could heat a bathtub of water with it...
    Then the NF7, which either overheats up like crazy, doesn't support the latest Intel processors or uuh, doesn't overclock!
    When their CEO said it was time to kick some a**, probably he was thinking of self-inflicted buttage...

    Let me hear you all say: "THANK YOU, NVIDIA!!!" :p
     
    tigger says thanks.
  4. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    want to overclock? get an intel chipset for godsake..
     
  5. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Nvidia has made mistakes just like any other company. ATi users will take note of any weaknesses in the other companies design and whine about it.

    Ati has made me pissed off that they can't churn out drivers that work with all popular games and work with all their cards at the same time. Is it that hard?:laugh:

    Thats just the tip of the iceberg for both companies. We all make mistakes, but to admit the problem is the first step to fixing it.;)

    I love both companies for their strengths and are wary of their weaknesses. Lets not turn this thread into a Nvidia vs. ATi vs. Intel thread.
     
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well every chipset has growing pains. Remember ATIs first foray into chipsets?
     
  7. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    @DaedalusHelios:

    I don't want that either, I just like to make fun of it corporation and their problems!
    I don't want to start another vs thread, in fact you were the one to mention ATi and took the oportunity to bash them a bit. Now, THAT's offtopic and can trully start a hateful "vs" thread!

    My post reflects my feelings towards nVidia when it comes to their chipsets. Even though I own an AMD CPU and ATi GPU I'm a big fan of the nForce4 chipset. That is precisesly why I'm upset about the decline in the quality of nVidia chipsets... :(
    That is all my post was ever meant to state, and that is all I had to say, sorry for not being more specific!
     
  8. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    I am sorry if I hurt your feelings.:toast:
     
  9. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    No worries, just wanted to make sure people don't follow up on the whole ATi/nVidia thing..
     
  10. BumbRush New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    not quite correct, the nf500 is the nf4 chipset renamed the 550-570-590 chipsets are acctualy based on the ULI chipsets nvidia bought in the nf4 days, this is true at least for the AMD chipsets, now the intel chipsets, i dont care, i have owned many intel systems in the past and i have alwase found that SiS or Intel chipsets worked best, ATI chipsets where great but u cant get them anymore because intel didnt like it when AMD bought ATI.....

    but i do agree about the vista support, the one thing that i dont like about nvidia is their horrible driver support with what they deside is "lagacy hardware" such as the 7900gx2.....
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    this is why i went to 580X
     
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ppl and Tri Sli :p thats not even worth it :laugh:
     
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Ever since the n-force4 people have found problems with data corruption. This is no isolated incident.
     
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Intel Chipset ftw ... go away nvidia
     
  15. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,633 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    172
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I think that was almost all driver related with that SW IDE driver or wtf-ever it's called.
     
  16. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    That's just fan-bloody-tastic!!! My 780i shat itself, managed to get a refund after a month and a half and awaiting arrival of the Striker 790i. Because, 1. I wanted a bloody good board. 2. Don't want to upgrade for some time. 3. Want to OC my Q6600 and 4. I have SLI cards just waiting to rock and roll. Hopefully a BIOS update will fix the problem otherwise I'm gonna be pissed!!!:wtf:
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,079 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    ouch thats a :slap: to the face and a :nutkick: to nvidia loyalists.
     
  18. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    THANK YOU, NVIDIA!!! :laugh::laugh::laugh:
    if u go single card solution for your pc and dont want to futurproof for SLIme then an intel chipset stomps an nvidia one anyday, dont get me wrong i like nvidia but really they need to improve or go back to gpu only. imho. no flames i burn easy :p
     
  19. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha


    huh?! You can still purchase new Intel CPU based boards that have an Intel NSB and ATI SSB. They're not exactly aimed at the high-end market by any means, but they're still out there.

    They tend to be found more with OEM Intel-based setups.
     
  20. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    also, poor dia01 i feel for u bud. and if eastcoast is correct then nvidia is a few too many years late on admitting their chipset problems. i also hope their is a bios update not that i own an nvidia chipset but in a month or so ill probably be working with a few of these chipsets through my workplace, and well if the problems remain i wont want to reccomend them to anyone wanting an oc'd sli rig, but on the other hand as long as the fault gets corrected (if a bios update can correct such a bs fault) then brand name boards with the 790i will probably stomp on other chipsets :D that is provided that nvidia gives their chipset the best product support and compatability support they possably can.
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have the ASUS 790i

    I have crashed Vista

    I have crashed XP 2 times now

    I hope there is a fix soon, it kinda makes you :banghead: with a 500 dollar motherboard.

    I have trust that it will be fixed....
     
  22. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    RMA and come back to teh red faction.
     
  23. X-TeNDeR

    X-TeNDeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
    Data corruption.. AGAIN??!?! :twitch:

    Luckey my former K8N Neo 2 Platinum (oh the good ol'..) was nForce 3, NVidia was yet to mess the chipset with that one :)

    The best thing for them is to release a fix ASAP, and advise costumers to apply it (and maybe end this type of problems in their products, too).
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,208 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Lies. I am why you went 580X :D
     
  25. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    This is something similar to the B2 Phenom's TLB bug..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page