1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Cascades Demo

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    You may not have final Vista drivers for your brand new GeForce 8800 video card, but you might be interested in this DX10 Cascades demo over at NZone. Minimum System Requirements: GeForce 8-Series, Windows Vista, ForceWare Drivers 100.64 or higher, 512MB system memory, 256MB video memory.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: [H]ard|OCP
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2007
  2. theoneghost New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    something i don't understand

    "Minimum System Requirements: GeForce 8-Series, Windows Vista, ForceWare Drivers 100.64 or higher, 512MB system memory, 256MB video memory"


    nobody put's a 8800 close to 512ram,and there are no 8800 cards with 256 video ram
  3. AnnCore

    AnnCore Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    266 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Neuchâtel, Switzerland
    So does anyone want to try this demo without the required hardware? Wonder what might happen?

    I got an ATI x1950 Pro agp (latest drivers) with an AMD x2 4200 and 1 Gig of memory.
  4. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    lol downloading hahaha woulder if two 1600xts in cross fire will take it LMAO
  5. Leon2ky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I happen to have both so I'll run it tonight.
  6. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    913 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    sweet... now i gotta get back from work to try this out :D
  7. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    umm it dosnt work on my hardware :( i didnt think it would.
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Im gonna try it on mine even though I dont meet two out of the 4 minimum system requirements.
  9. AnnCore

    AnnCore Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    266 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Neuchâtel, Switzerland
    As in wouldn't even load? As in BSOD?
  10. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    didnt even open :(
  11. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    It looks great. Is this real DX10?? If that is real 4.0 shaders, cant wait until games utilizing it come out.
  12. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Get us a screenshot @ least, lol... thanks!

    :)

    * I know: Screenshots are a POOR excuse for 'the real thing', but... next best thing to being there & all that are screenshots, @ least imo!

    (Ah, living "vicariously" sux... I want an 8800, but imo, they're still FAR too pricey... I 'shot the wad' on the rig in my sig, & that's enough for a few years! Still... it's tempting, because I know the 8800 top-end cards blow AWAY my card even!)

    APK

    P.S.=> LOL, per your signature? "YOU DON'T KNOW, WHAT IT'S LIKE...", one of my fav tunes from my 'misguided youth'... apk
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2007
  13. C.Ash

    C.Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    Looks like SM4.0 in action.

    Is it really that impressive?
  14. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Aha!

    I didn't see the photos in the first post, because I set Opera to use ONLY CACHED PICTURES, & first time in a thread on that setting, means NO pictures @ all (if not already previously viewed, as I am sure you all know, lol).

    Anyhow - WILD!

    * DirectX 10 really DOES appear to be a 'step-up & in the right direction' imo @ least... those shots look nearly "photo-realistic"...

    APK
  15. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    145 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    I hope that the demo looks better than those screen shots.
    They look like something from DX8 rather than DX10!! :wtf:
  16. Leon2ky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I'll load up fraps and post pictures once I get it going.
  17. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    410 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    QFT :S...
  18. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Looks pretty nice to me.... very nicely textured. I'm sure they could come up with something much more complex than that though.
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Someone upload a video at file host and link it.
  20. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,356 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    My thoughts exactly.
  21. Leon2ky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    This demo is amazing. But I can't get any screen shots! I've tried Fraps, Snapit, and Hypersnap and I can't get a screen shot without doing the crappy old Print Screen -___-.

    Edit: I finally got 5 decent ones, these are all close ups (in the demo) but they show off perfectly what this demo was meant to show:
    http://leon2ky.com/leon/dx10nv/
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  22. PyroInc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    682 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dl'd it and it asks to install directx 10 runtime but I dont have vista.... what do you guys think will happen if I install it?
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  23. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    hmm i got a feeling it won't work.
  24. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    hmmm..looks nice and all, but im SURE i have seen similar quality with current cards....
  25. shoman24v

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    216 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm really not seeing anything special... Maybe my eyes are broken.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page