1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Confirms GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB Bug

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Users with all kinds of setups have been reporting problems, affecting some GeForce 8800 cards, and particularly the GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB. According to users from NVIDIA, eVGA, NVNews, Rage3F and Guru of 3D forums, the problem causes random slowdowns, often halving frame rates until the user alt-tabs out of the game and back in again. The problem doesn't appear to be tied to any particular hardware configuration, Windows version, or display setting. NVIDIA Technical Marketing Director Nick Stam confirmed today that NVIDIA is aware of this issue, and new drivers will be released some time in July to fix the problem.

    Source: The Tech Report
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    o_O Explains why NFS:C Slowed down a lot...
  3. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,158 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    355
    Great news. This occurs often in CS:S nice that they are going to fix it :)
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Someone in my family and one of my former co workers was telling me about this. I think he got the 8800GTS 640 or no, he got the GTX. Said it slowed down in a game for him and he didnt know why. Of course, I thought it was his processor cause he is running a 64 3400+ I believe (cant remember)
  5. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,491 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    I was getting the same problems in BF2142 and it happened just yesterday also. Drop from 100fps to 20 or 30fps. Nice that they are going to fix this
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    It stuff like that that will turn this into a flame war.
    At least it is found and is being resolved.
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Your right...I'm going to delete that comment.

    So this happens in all games? Even in the new DX10 ones? Is this problem in XP and Vista?
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,687 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    The problem occurs randomly, but an alt-tab or alt-enter (windowed mode) and returning fixes it. It was most commonly seen with AA enabled, and attributed to a memory leak, since it affected the 320MB far more than the 640MB.

    Glad to hear NV are working on it at last.
  9. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Had that problem a couple of times....I just exited the game and back in.
  10. c`LoW New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    man, this happend to me a lot in source =/ made me go crazy.
  11. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    So that explains why my FPS was so low... I was wondering why my 8800 was only getting ~30-40 fps in de_aztec at times when my x1950pro used to get at least 90fps... I hope nVidia fixes this bug as well as the bug that causes video to tear up soon. I'm getting kind of impatient waiting for fixes :(
  12. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,342 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    These cards have been out for a long time and nVidia is just now fessing up to this issue. WHAT? I wonder if they will actually fix the issue? I have been playing Far Cry with x64 XP Pro on my 7900GS. I think the slow down bug could effect the 7 series to. Could just be x64 as I never had problem with 32 bit XP.

    In all honesty, my X850XT is a more desirable card to me then my 7900GS. Maybe I should sell my 7900GS and save up for a new/faster ATi card?
  13. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ahhhh, i thought it was my NVidia chipset drivers all along...
  14. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I was having this slowdown on almost all of my games. So I thought it was a driver issue. So I found a leaked driver from Guru3D version 160.03 and it has fixed all of my problems. This problem no longer occurs and my system runs more stable than ever:rockout:
  15. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    well at least you know a fix is on the way, as nv would have never admitted the problem unless they had a fix ready for release.
  16. Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the beta driver Version: 162.18 on nvidias site is fixing this bug or ?

    Just got myself a new 8800GTS card and want things to run fine.
  17. Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This driver you talk about here, it that for the 8000 series ?

    If so you know where I can find this?

    I downloaded the nvidia beta driver version 162.18, released 5 July 2007, not sure if they fixes the bug.

    If anyone has more news about this please post :)
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2007
  18. Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guess no one knows more about theese drivers ?
  19. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Yes it is for the 8800 series. The version is 160.03 and was downloaded from Guru3d.com. If I find the link I'll post it here for you:D

    EDIT:Just found it. It's for Windows 2000/XP. Click here for the link
    Tom says thanks.
  20. Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thx for the link :)

    I just wonder the beta driver 162.18, wouldnt this be newer than your 160.03 from Guru3D or ?
  21. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I guess so...But, that driver was made by Guru3d. The beta driver is from nVidia and I have never tested it. I am happy with the one I currently have as I see no problems. But, YES it would be newer than mine:p
  22. Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay thx, I have just got a 8800GTS, what model do you have ?

    I thought Guru3D was only putting up drivers made nvidia, didnt not know that they also make their own nvidia drivers.
  23. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I have the XFX 8800 GTS 320MB XXX Edition.

    BTW: GURU3D don't make their own drivers. That version|(160.03) was leaked from nVIDIA amd they(Guru3D) modified it a bit
    Tom says thanks.
  24. Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice I have the same model version as you, inno3D 8800 GTS 320MB.

    Will try these drivers later then I guess, if they work good for you chances are they work well for me also :)

    Thx again.
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,687 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    all guru3d do is change the INF file to support more cards. they dont modify the DRIVER itself in any way. 160.03 was a quadro driver originally.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page