1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nvidia for CAD???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by mos187, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    a better mobo chipset could help a little if hes wanting to speed things up, but then u look at changing a bunch of crap in the pc,
    nvidia quadro and as much ram as you can cram in it should help heaps.

    no one suggesting the matrox parhelia?
    these cards are designed to be very high end (just not for gaming)
    they are expensive tho, but would shit it in for cadding or any 2d and 3d based modelling.
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    he is only doing 2D he doesn't need the highest end GPU a 2400PRO/8400GS would offer a big speed up over the onboard chipset he uses and would use very little energy. those cards can more than handle 2D CAD!
     
  3. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    yeah in that case. just get an 8400gs. here in melbourne (aus) they go for only $50
    that and a bit of ram 1GB pieces (667 or 800 same price generally) 45 ea. older ram may be 15 or 20 more per piece. far more economic then buying a high end graphical desingers card.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well... i can get a 3870 or 3850 cheaper than a 2XXX card.
    im thinking 2gig's would be fine for what he's doing... and a e2XXX would be a hell of a lot better than the cely he's using now. i almost thought to get him a new cely e1200 dual core.
     
  5. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Florida, US
    yeah that's fine fit.
    there's also a link in Chinese to soft mod the 3850 lol
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    find it for me.... i don't know what to look for. what card does it turn into?

    here's the link to his page....

    www.superratmachine.com

    the stuff looks complex but it's not hard at all. it takes about 4 minutes to render a whole design on his current computer.
     
  7. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Florida, US

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page