1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA ForceWare Version 158.22

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 3, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    NVIDIA has released new ForceWare drivers today for all the major Windows operating systems. The updated package of the original U.S. English driver kit adds support for GeForce 8800 Ultra. Please note that this driver currently only supports GeForce 8 Series. Read the release notes for more information on product support, bug fixes, feature limitations, and known compatibility issues.

    ForceWare Version 158.22 for Windows XP / 2000 / Media Center Edition (33.5MB)
    ForceWare Version 158.22 for Windows XP Professional / Server 2003 x64 Edition (42.1MB)
    ForceWare Version 158.18 for Windows Vista 32-bit (30.4MB)
    ForceWare Version 158.18 for Windows Vista 64-bit (43MB)


    Source: NVIDIA
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    These are about the same as the .18's, except with a lot better SLI support.
     
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    WHOO HOO!!! they fixed the overscan!!!! finally maybe now i can use my hd cables woot!!! :toast:
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    yay for happy Nvidia users!

    Everything runs fine for me, except two things.

    #1: Supreme commander does crash on max settings, like the release notes say.
    #2: I use dreamscenes, an extended version of MS's animated background. It seems this doesnt disable automatically like it did in earlier drivers (all 15x.xx drivers do this) so it causes GPU errors/recovers all the time. Disabling dreamscenes :( solves the issue, so its minor.
     
  5. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    still in vista pinnacle crashes like crazy.. i'll be happy when i go home for lunch and see if this works lol.. if it works im happy indeed.. u know.. until i find something else to bitch about..lol..
     
  6. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    lol tried it.. apparently their idea of "fixing overscan" was removing it completely so you never even knew it existed in the first place.. thats so weak.. they didnt want to fix it.. so they removed it? it's not in my control panel now.. gr8 lol.. all this hd gear and i cant even downscan the picture size lol.. i cant see any icons in games..:laugh: :banghead: :roll: :confused: :twitch:
     
  7. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    You know, if there is a problem with an ATI driver, it's patched within the month, if not the week.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561

    FIxed aspect ratio scaling. Oh wait, thats taken ATI years and they got bored and forgot.
     
  9. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    ATI has horrible drivers period. On top of that, their catalyst control center sucks. Luckily, the solution to that is a very well written program called ATI Tray Tools by Ray Adams lol.

    With these new drivers, i still have video corruption in windows media player...
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    Chron: There are massive differences, mostly in SLI. Try reading the previous posts, and maybe the release notes. These drivers add SLI for 6/7/8 series cards in vista, for most things.


    Oh and chron, dont know whawt hardware you have, but CCC is pretty decent these days. Better than Nvidias POS.
     
  11. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I should read the release notes on how to correct video corruption? Maybe you should read edited posts...

    Also - Try ATI Tray Tools. Blows CCC away. I havn't messed with ATI since I recieved two failing x1950 cards back to back. CCC sucks plain and simple. At least with nvidia's garbage they have game profiles. I think both CCC and nvidia's control panel are crap, I don't take sides like some people.

    I'm a consumer not a fanboy -- thought I'd put that out there before I get into an idiotic fight over absolutely nothing with one.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    How do you know CCC sucks, if you havent used it. Nvidias game profiles havent worked in vista yet, this is the first driver they do.

    Oh and i have no idea what you mean about me reading edited posts - maybe i posted before you edited? Hmm? my reply was to your original post, NOT the edit.
     
  13. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Like I said, I'm not going to get into an idiotic argument here but I will set you straight real quick;

    I have used ATI CCC. In fact, I've probably used it longer than you. I remember using it on my first video card - An All-in-Wonder Radeon 7200 w 32MB of vram... I'm actually on my very FIRST nvidia card, an 8800GTS. I've owned four ATI cards, 1 nvidia card. I think I'm more than capable of passing a sound judgment on the matter. When I say CCC sucks, its because it sucks.

    And btw - it didn't occur to you to change your post accordingly after you posted and saw I edited my post? I looked into what I said, and realized I was wrong very quick, so I corrected this. Whats the problem here?

    Are you done jumping all over my posts yet?
     
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,670 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Vista aside, having owned many of both cards I have no real preference for ATi or NVidia drivers myself, I do tend to think that generally ATi do sort their driver issues out a little quicker but I take the previous point about certain "issues" that still remain.

    Purely as a personal preference, I too dislike CCC and find it pretty resource intensive as a user interface, TBH I find the "old" NVidia Control panel much more user friendly but just like our operating systems, in many cases it's just down to mostly what you are most used to and feel the most comfy with.
     
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Okay, maybe there are a few exceptions to that rule.... :p.
     
  16. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    ok i reinstalled.. now the resize hd desktop option is visible.. but just like last release, it does absolutey nothing.. you think "cool it works" then u try to size it and it acts like it's working but.. nada.. it's crap.. again... and again.. and again....lol.. ridiculous all the cash i put into HD and I can't even use it..
     
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Funny how I've never had major issues with ATi drivers, I swear its something you lot do :p that said cats 7.4 suck, they wont even install lmao. Also there has been a marked downgrade in catalyst driver quality since cats 6.2. Most probably dont know this, but for a long time catalyst software was awarded for being the industrys most stable graphics driver software suite.
     
  18. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Is there any dang independant software , tweaked drivers or anything that will let me over/underscan my HDTV to fit my screen size?
     
  19. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my dreamscene works perfect! but the only problem now is with fifa2007... graphic so slow even with geforce 7600
     
  20. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    that sucks man... I feel for ya. But thanks for the heads up - i was about to upgrade my TV to 50" hd lcd simply to setup my computer on.
     
  21. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    No difference between the 18s and the 22s here... :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page