1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA GeForce 190.38 Beta Drivers Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    NVIDIA seems to have a big update for its GeForce driver suite underway, with the bump in version number from the 186 series to 190. The first release in the series carries the unsupported beta tag. Version 190.38 beta introduces a series of changes as indicated in the release notes documents (for Windows 7, Vista, and XP), though the list of supported NVIDIA products remains largely unchanged from its previous release. Important changes are as follows:
    • Adds support for OpenGL 3.1
    • Adds support for CUDA 2.3 for improved performance in GPU Computing applications. See CUDA Zone for more details
    • Adds a new user-controlled power management setting for GeForce 9-series and later graphics cards. This option allows users to set a performance level for each DirectX or OpenGL application
    • Includes several new control panel features and numerous bug fixes. More information can be found in the release documentation
    The supported products list includes the newly introduced GeForce GT 100 series, GeForce G 210, and ION LE (which is a lite version of the ION mGPU).

    DOWNLOAD: NVIDIA GeForce 190.38 BETA for Windows 7/Vista 64-bit | Windows 7/Vista 32-bit | Windows XP 64-bit | Windows XP 32-bit
    newtekie1 says thanks.
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Downloading now, I wonder if this will help folding numbers...
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,682 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    setting performance/power levels per app is interesting. lock to 2D clocks for older apps, for example.
  4. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    i'd like to see this power management feature


    "downloads"
  5. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    Wondering the same...I'm giving it a go once I download it;)
  6. 1nvisible New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    New power management feature sounds interesting, think it would be a nice feature cause when I'm watching some old videos i would prefer to conserve power with a down clocking to standard 2D frequencies, i cant seem to down clock with codec like ffshow and CoreAVC so hopefully now i can independently select when to use full performance 3D clocks or standard.
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2009
  7. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    yay for OpenGL 3.1!!!!!!
  8. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,294 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    It's the renderer that makes the card run at full speed.
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    Nope:wtf: PPD numbers went from 11K to 8.9K on my GX2:ohwell: Switching back to 186.18.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,905 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Florida
    really? hmmm i havent seen what it will do to my GX2's yet. this might be bad news.
  11. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i havent read all of the full specs that the drivers, but with this performance managment, i wonder if you can set core speeds ect for seperate core in a dual gpu card or gpu sppeds in multi card set ups (sli) ?
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    it will run at user specified clocks on low requirment apps like video players or less intensive games or 2d games
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,905 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Florida
    well i installed them but i dont see any type of special CP were are you guys finding this stuff...unless i havent been readiong and its backend controlled
  14. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    543 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    And other things that no-one uses. :p
  15. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    I cant force AA on games with these drivers, other users have the same thing as mentioned on Guru3d nvidia driver forum?? Do confirm, so we can see if its the drivers with all gpu´s or just some? I have 2 GTX260´s in sli, AA doesnt work at all?? Im on Windows 7 B7600 x64?!
  16. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I'm only interested if it has an SLi profile for Furmark 1.7, nVidia's clearly lagging behind when the worlds best graphics stress test isn't supported in SLi. I had four R770s spun up at 91C apiece but try it on a GTX295 and only one GPU spins up. What gives?

    BTW this is the second 190.x series beta driver, I've been using 190.15 for a couple of weeks.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  17. 1nvisible New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why in gods name is stereoscopic 3D service running in the background when i don't give a shit about 3D, they need to stop putting all these bloated junk with drivers.
  18. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    after installing these I see no no panels or no power management or anything:confused:


    . . . . . and it dropped my fps in games
  19. 1nvisible New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Manage 3D setting, scroll down "Power management mode".
  20. denice25 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    316 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    that's good to know.. nice post!!
  21. BetA

    BetA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    US and Germany
    i dont find the power management!!
    i have a 9800gtx 65nm g92....
    why do i dont find it..could it be its only for the 55nm cards?

    greetz
  22. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,294 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    So they don't have to tell users to download a million different driver packages.

    uninstall it if you don't need it.
  23. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    run OCCT gpu test - it has a profile for SLI. Same as as furmark, except now the doughnut is a redhead.
  24. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    The service will stay there even after that :) edit: actually it didn't even though some said it would. Just uninstalled and it removed the running service too without a need to reboot. If you don't want it to install at all, go to the display driver folder (once you have started install) and rename 3DVision_1xx.xx.exe to something else.

    Have it running with 186.18 too, even though I did know about it before installing. I was jsut interested if you could use it for games with red/green glasses, like so said. Takes 22megs of memory for nothing, maybe I'll kill it as I don't even have glasses to test it on :)

    Power management stuff sounds interesting, anyone care to post a screenie about it and is 2D mode selectable for GT200 cards?
  25. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    nop, don't got it with a 9800gt

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page