1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia Geforce 5200 to 5500 ??

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Pr0mo, Sep 16, 2006.

  1. Pr0mo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,
    i have Nvidia Geforce 5200
    how can i flash it to 5500 ?
    i hope you guys can help me
  2. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    There was a BIOS from a Gainward FX5500 wich worked nicely in most of the FX5200 cards, but since I gave my own FX5200 I don't have it anymore. Search for it and flash it using nvflash, it was recommended to use an older version, v4.23 or some close one.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    isnt it easier just to OC the 5200 into 5500 speeds? cus they are basically the same cards, with different clocks
  4. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Actually there was a little differency wich was enabled by the BIOS flash, wich was the Intellisample 1.0, but appart from that, yes, the speed is the only other difference
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol yea so do you really think its worth the trouble?

    IMO...nope :p
  6. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I did flash mine, but you know, doing dangerous things with a 34€ card it's not as serious as doing them with a 250€ card... XD
  7. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    hehe thats so true :D
  8. Pr0mo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    can someone give me link of nvflash ?
  9. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. Pr0mo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how must i use this :p ??
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol i have no idea on how to use it...i just got the link :p

    as i said, i reckon it would be easier to get something like coolbits and just overclock the 5200 into 5500 speeds :D
  12. Pr0mo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no i dont like coolbits :p
    can someone tell me how i must use nvflash ?
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol ok, sorry i cant help with the nvflash
  14. Pr0mo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    who can help me ??

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page