1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA GeForce 680i Motherboards Do Not Support Quad Core Yorkfield

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. insider Guest

    Even the P965 boards supports the Yorkfield, this is certainly my last nvidia board, POS!
  2. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    Im so glad I sold my 680i. I never liked that PoS anyway, crappy board that has more flaws than good. Sure its a great overclocker, but it kills ramĀ“s, has problems with raid and many other problems at the same time. Not worth it! My suggestion is, if you have a 680i board still, sell it ASAP!
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    Us SLI users don't really have that option. Though I already planned on getting a 780i board when they come out. The crappy quad-core overclocking of the 680i boards should be enough to keep people wanting the 45nm quad-cores away from them already.

    I haven't really had major problems with my 680i boards. My first eVGA board died, and the replacement had a bad case intrusion sensor. They definitely don't kill RAM, I've had the same 2 sticks of RAM in my eVGA board and then my P5N32 for a year now with no problems, and I even run them at voltages slightly higher than they are specced for. My only real complaint is the down right crappy Quad-Core overclocking, which I am hoping will be fixed in the 780i boards.
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    How long has the 680i series been out anyway?
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Not cool. They guaranteed that it would be compatible.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    They guaranteed it would be compatible with 45nm CPUs, which is it, not specifically 45nm Quad-cores.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    O darn. But they have let me down. AMD on the other hand, my board is compatible with the Phenom! WOOT! And it is only 570sli.
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    Yeah, I'm sure this really just comes down to Intel making some minor change on the Quad-Core 45nm chips that no one was expecting, which makes them incompatible with a lot of motherboards. They did the same thing with the Pentium Ds, and then the Core 2s. I still have boards that only support up to Pentium 4s.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Even ASUS doesn't confirm yet that the 750i and 780i are Yorkfield ready.:eek:

    Probably just an oversight and/or it's in testing.
  10. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    949 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Damnit now i have to upgrade to 780i for yorkfield or peryn, FUCK!!

    and i dont want to buy DDR3 yet its way to expensive, good thing 780i will be DDR2 and only the 790i will support DDR3
  11. insider Guest

    Never mind the Yorkfield nonsense now, Nehalem is due out soon afterwards anyway...
  12. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Thats when I plan to upgrade:D

    Hopefully this time next year DDR3 will be a little (alot!) cheaper with better timings.
  13. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    I thought that you always had to change out your motherboard when getting a new Intel CPU if you wanted the MAXIMUM BENEFITS of the Processor.

    Doesnt it all have to do with the socket type for the Processor?

    I could have sworn I had heard somewhere awhile ago that the YorkFields would be using a Different socketype anyways. Am I confused here or something?:confused:
  14. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Intel is trying to kill nvidia right next to ati. Intel's own crossfire based graphics systems will be out by this time next year.

    I believe intel switches the boards up so much so they can keep selling new platforms to boxed based companies. With intel there is almost no upgrade path. At least with no upgradability, intel only has to worry about highest performance possible. No compromises have to be made for backwards compatability in new chips, kind of opens up the slate.
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,417 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Not all. The ASUS Commando supports YF at OC speeds meaning that you first have to plug in a 1066 / 800 FSB CPU, OC it to 1333 MHz, save the CMOS settings, shutdown, install the YF processor, you're ready to go. But ofcourse, you'll have to update the BIOS before you can do all that.

    Thumb rule: New Intel processors like Intel chipsets. It always takes time for 3rd parties to make compatible core-logic.

    VIA and SiS have given up, earlier they used to come up with reasonably good chipsets like the VIA PT800, etc. Neither of these have a FSB 1333 supportive chipset, as also ATI.
  16. insider Guest

    That's simple, most board now can clock beyond 500 FSB.
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,417 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yeah? Then look at AMD. In the last 5 years, they've changed their CPU socket FIVE times: Socket A > Socket 754 > Socket 939 > Socket AM2 > Socket AM2+ (compatible with AM2).

    At least Intel kept the LGA 775 way back since Prescott. And you very much can use a Prescott on a X38. When D975XBX was launched as Intel's flagship desktop board, it didn't support Conroe, a simple BIOS update did the trick.

    Perhaps the only CPU vendor that didn't do significant changes to its platform is VIA.
  18. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    Doesn't Intel plan on having processors capable of doing graphics and physics all on its own? I was reading about it back in April when Intel purchased Havok, something called the Larrabee with "Tens of cores". Intel wants to kill AMD, nVidia and anyone else who wants anything to do with computers apparently. For the love of god Intel, take Creative down too!
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,417 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    :wtf:Creative? Pray why? How is Creative of any competition to Intel? WTF are you smoking?
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yes but some P965's already have some issues supporting Wolfdale Quads, not in their compatibility but in their power regulators, they may support Yorkfield Quads but it is likely that on the lower to mid range boards you aint gonna get a lot out of some of them (if you overclock) apart from perhaps the higher end boards with at 4-6 phase power.

    Edit: Also some manufacturers are listing P965 boards of theirs that WILL support the future 45nm tech, Asus site even lists thier 680i....... problem here is that some people will think they automatically support Yorkfield Quads when in fact they will not, in these cases the reference is to 45nm dual cores.....AKA Penryn, apparently not all 45nm ready boards will support 45nm Quad cores and please remember this is not "native" support but a BIOS update to enable support where as the P35 and x38 has native support. It seems that most 975 boards wont support 45nm from what I can see?
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2007
  21. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Shit..I just got a Striker extreme and waiting for the 45nm Yorkfields and Wolfdales to be out to buy one.Now I,m not sure whether the new 45nm wolfdales will fully compatible with 680i chips.I think it might be due to the VRM that Intel changes every time.My friend have an NF 4 SLi X16 Intel chipset based ASUS board which its 2nd gen supports core 2 not his.May be this will be done with the 680i non-reference boards too like Striker.
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yorkfields not wolfdales, wolfdales are current 65nm quads. To answer your question regarding your board and to re-iterate what I said in my previous post, your board WILL support Dual core 45nm processors but not Quad core, for Asus owners take a look here to be precise, this will show you specific compatibility, notice many boards do support 45nm duallies but not quads:

    http://event.asus.com/mb/45nm/

    You may be interested to see that the new 780i DDR2 chipset DOES NOT support Quad core 45nm cpu's
  23. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Yes, like I said in #34, but I think they are in the middle of testing those boards with Yorkfields. I highly doubt NVIDIA would release their next gen board without supporting the new processors. (they might as well fold up their chipset division if they did that:laugh:)
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    A bit worrying tho if they dont actually know now dont you think? Asus clearly are saying as of NOW they dont, I am not saying they wont, just mentioning that if NVidia dont actually know for sure yet then as you said....they may as well pack up and go home :eek:
  25. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Yeah, I know. Alot is up in the air right now. That ASUS 45nm support page used to have the 975 boards as supporting 45nm CPU's, but they took them off a couple of weeks ago. They do say they will be (and are) updated/adding boards in the future, so you never know (c'mon P5W DH:D)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page