1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia GeForce GT230 (MSI) Audio Through HDMI?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by puma99dk|, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,444 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    does a Nvidia GeForce GT230 got Audio out through hdmi, or do i think about another GT-serie?
     
  2. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Some of the older nvidia cards needed a cable running from the sound card to the gpu so you could pass sound out the HDMI, Newer nvidia cards do not need the cable.
    Im not sure of you need the cable for the card you are asking about though.
     
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,444 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    i am not sure of that either myself but it's "HDCP Supported" i read that: http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=GT230-PCIE-15-BULK

    and GT220 specs says this:

    HDCP yes
    HDMI yes
    Audio Input for HDMI HDA, SPDIF

    bcs i can't find GT230 on nvidia's site >.<

    does this SPDIF means it needs a cable?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    there should be a SPIDF out on the mobo that matches the SPIDF in on the that card and there is a jumper cable that may or may not have come with your video card. I used to have like 3 of them.
     
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Show us the GPU-Z page, if the readings are correct i think you'll find that's just a GT230M, put onto a desktop card by a third party (Wouldn't be the first time a Mobile GPU has been put onto a PCI-E card)

    If it is infact just a GT230M on a chip, then you can look up the info for the GT230 here http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_geforce_gt_230m_us.html , which makes it seem as though it has it's own Audio chip (The HDMI audio is said to be 'HDA', which looks to be a standard Intel High Definition Audio chip) although i've never used Nvidia's built in HDMI sound, and as such am not completely sure
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    A quick search says it's based on either G92 or G94, neither of which have native audio so you will need an SPDIF cable.
     
  7. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    i've got a 220 plugged in now through hdmi and it gives audio,so i assume the 230 does..
     
    puma99dk| says thanks.
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,444 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    thx, they should be on the same core.
     
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    They are not the same core. You will be quite disappointed when you find out you need that cable. The GT 230 is basically a rebranded 9600GSO.
     
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,444 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    hmmm and hwcompare.com write Code Name GT218 :confused:

    GeForce GT 230 (hwcompare.com)

    but i have wrote to Nvidia Support to see if they will give me out specifications on the GT 230 and the sales man told me he will test it in a machine bcs he couldn't remember how much memory that was on it, so i will get him to see if i can get the gpu name aswell.
     
  11. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    The GPU you linked and pictured in your post is definitely not based on GT218. None of the GT21x chips supported SLI and that card has an SLI connector.
     
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,444 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    that one was just a random pic of a Nvidia GeForce GT 230 i found on google, i dunno the specific card yet but hopefully i can get some info about it later.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page