1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 and GeForce GTX 295 Launch Dates Announced

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I meant maxed out by maxed settings but not AA of course and it was at 1650 x 1080 res. And i forgot if i ran at DX9 or DX10.1.
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,467 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    not with power supply requirements, youd have to run them in a commercial environment, not the retail market, after 2 cards at least.
     
  3. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    gotta love eVGA

    eVGA does whats called a step up program. I almost did it for my 8800 card but didn't have the money.
     
  4. BigBruser13

    BigBruser13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Portland OR
    power requirements

    I meant 2xGTX 295 in sli because there are 2 processors on each PCB so it would be a quad sli. You thought I meant 4 cards.
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    eVGA's step-up program and an invoice that says I paid $399 for my GTX260. Got to love invoices that list the original price before rebates. :)
     
    erocker says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    I see. I guess I'm shelling out $150 bucks then.:ohwell:
     
  7. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    just curious but am i the only one to just now notice that GTX280's are $324 bucks, only 50 bucks more than a GTX 260, and that the GTX 260 55nm are already out?
     
  8. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,466 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Is it time to upgrade my HD 4870x2 already? Damn it! I just bought Gateway P 7811.
     
  9. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    do you guys really need smth more than an 4870x2??????!!!!!!!!!! if you can get it , get it but do you really need it?
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    No, I don't need it, which is why I'm getting the GTX285.

    There are some out there that just have to have the best of the best though. You can bet there will be people with two GTX295's.

    Personally, I am tired of dual-GPU setups, too many hassles. I'll be sticking with single GPU setups for a while.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,467 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    so are you 1 that always needs BB;), those that need it have the BB syndrom which in turn leaves them in debt. Thats what i like about PCs, you can balance the requirements to your needs and wants.
     
  12. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    im thinking of upgrading my 8800 GT to a GTX 280, after the prices drop and stabilize. what do you guys think? anyone have the GTX 280 and any suggestions about it. i'll post a thread about this in a week or so after prices equalize.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,467 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    might aswell take it a step further with the 285/295, since they claim to draw less power if im not mistaken.
     
  14. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    those that need it have the BB syndrom which in turn leaves them in debt. Thats what i like about PCs, you can balance the requirements to your needs and wants.[/QUOTE]

    +1 on that. i totally agree with you
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    No, I'm not one of those that always needs BB, read my first sentence. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I've gone single and dual GTX280. I loved both. I have a single 280 right now, and I can say with confidence it's the best video card I've ever owned. Far better than the 4870x2.
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,467 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    bleh, that will leave you in debt.
     
  18. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Ok this is Crysis your talking about, that F##King game could bring down NORAD. Bill Gates super computer would probably give him the finger if he played crysis on it.:D
     
  19. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    o_O I play max settings on 16x10 and I bet you if I could play on 19x12 I'd still get at least 30 fps since I get 40-50 fps now with a single GTX280. Anyway I'm preaching more about system optimization. You get that down and Crysis ain't so bad.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,467 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    EarthSim Machine would give them the finger.
     
  21. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    :laugh::laugh::roll:
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,467 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    Good point, this is a wild tangent, but COD 4 states it will not play on an AMD XP, well i have a card that is well beyond their min spec, CPU is at 2.2GHz vs 1.867 (M2500 OC to 3200) after changing a .asi file to a .bak the game runs without crashing, and to my amazement the machine runs that Game Excellent in MP (auto settings do set the game high)

    I can say ive done some system tweaks that people never think to try (ones that are service related are the major players)
     
  23. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    thanks for the input,
     
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i want see on hand tests
     
  25. -=SNIPER=-

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page