1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2gb vs. Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280mb

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by puma99dk|, Jan 28, 2012.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    i got ask what would be best for gaming in 1920x1080, when we talk Mafia 2, Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3, Fallout 3 & NV, L.A. Noire, GTA IV/Episodes From Liberty City, BioShock Infinite (when it's released) and newer games.

    ino that the GTX 570 1280mb is GF110 and 480 cuda cores and the GTX 560 Ti is GF114 and 384 cuda cores.

    ino basic GTX 560 Ti vs GTX 570 ino the GTX 570 wins but the GTX 560 Ti got 2gb will the games that needs memory which will be better?
     
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    570 will be far better imo.
     
  3. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    While the 570 is undoubtedly a faster card, however, demanding games such as BF3, that use a lot of VRAM, will greatly benefit from the extra VRAM.
    I've read some user reviews that have monitored VRAM usage in BF3 exceeding 1.4GB of VRAM usage. This is where the 570 might start to run into problems.
    Also, the higher the resolution the more it'll benefit from the 2GB.

    Other than those scenario's, the 570 should outpace the 560Ti in most everything.
    Although, 560Ti's are, typically, very good clockers and most should be able to be OC'd to 900MHz core with relative ease. In addition to that, if you can keep it cool enough and adjust the voltage, hitting 1GHz shouldn't be an issue either.

    So it'll all depend on the variables to show which GPU would be better for your needs.
     
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I'm currently using a 1GB GTX 560ti @ 1000/2170 at that resolution 1920 x 1080.

    I also have the same processor as you.

    I can play Mafia 2 max settings with physx high and it's smooth as silk,

    GTA IV and EFLC - Everything maxed apart from shadows/night shadows on high and view distance at 66 I think (due to 1GB limitation and stutter if I go over it). They also both play smooth as silk (FXAA injector used as well)

    I can't comment on Fallout 3 but Oblivion with a shit load of graphical mods and AA is so smooth I could almost cry compared to my old phenom rig :)

    A 2GB 560TI overclocked should be more than enough, 2 in sli non overclocked would rape it :)
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'm dealing with the same question right now---though I might also want to run SLI in the future. I wish there was a more affordable card with 1.5GB besides the 580 cause that's probably a good amount of vram. Don't quite need 2GB for 1920x1200 but 1.0 or even 1.28 isn't quite enough for BF3 (at higher settings such as 4X+ MSAA) and Skyrim modded to holy hell. To say nothing of future titles...

    Don't forget you also have regular GTX 560 as well as the Ti 448 as potential options.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    the GTX 560 Ti 488 is build on the GF110 gpu gives u 1280mb same as the GTX 570 just disabled some Cuda Cores nuth else so about 10% less power in performance than the GTX 570.
     
  7. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    so, the 448 cores is just the same as the 570?
     
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    the core should be the same, bcs GTX 570 is also based on the GF110 but got 480 Cuda Cores.
     
  9. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    ok
     
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,215 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    the 448 also overclocks better. so they are literally the same card at the end of the day.

    Both the 448 core and the 570 580 core will murder the 2GB Ti 95% of the time at 1080P. Some games are a bit of an exception but they are few, and at 1080P you will be limited by (gpu) processing power anyways.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page