1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nVidia PhysX Support Thread

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by newtekie1, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,705 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,862
    This is a support thread to help people get PhysX up and running on their nVidia graphics cards.

    Things you will need:

    A CUDA enabled Graphics card(GeForce 8 or 9 series)
    Forceware Driver Version 177.35 or 177.39 or 177.41
    nVidia PhysX Driver 8.06.12
    Modified inf files to install the Forceware Drivers on unsupported cards(provided lower in the post)
    PhysX Tweaker(Optional, Allows you to turn PhysX on and off)(Thanks Cold_Storm)

    It is pretty simple, install the Forceware Driver, then install the PhysX driver. PhysX should then work. But if you are having problems ask here.

    There is a special process you need to follow if you want to install the 177 series drivers on cards other than the GTX 280/260:

    1.) Download the 177.41 drivers and modded INF from here.
    2.) Use winzip/winrar/7zip/etc. to extract the driver exe into a folder.
    3.) Copy the modified inf into the folder, replacing the old one.
    4.) Run setup.exe from the folder to install the drivers.

    It seems that only certain G92 and GT200 cards support PhysX.

    Here is a list of cards and their status:

    GTX 280: Works
    GTX 260: Works
    9800GTX+: Works
    9800GTX: Works
    8800GTS 512MB: Works
    8800GT: Works
    8800GTX/Ultra: Doesn't Work
    8800GTS 640/320MB: Doesn't Work
    8800GS: Doesn't Work
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
    p_o_s_pc, Weer and trt740 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Physx works only on all G92 & GT200 cards at the moment ;)
    trt740 says thanks.
  3. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    using 177.35's and .39 and nVidia PhysX Driver 8.06.12 i cant get any benefit from my 9800GTX in UT3 physx maps, nor can i select which card to use.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,705 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,862
    I know that, but I'm looking more for other 8 series cards it works on. The G80s, the lower cards, and the G94s.

    Can you bring up the PhysX control panel? I think there is an issue with the drivers and UT3 right now, I've read other people saying that UT3 PhysX maps either crash on them or they get no benefit.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia

    Same here, I haven't seen any benefit yet (apart from the 3 point increase in 3D06, yeah, 3, lol!)
  6. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Physx 8.06.12 doesn't support anything else than G92 & GT200. G80, g84, G94, ..., support will be added in later versions.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,705 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,862
    It doesn't work on my G92 8800GS. Everything installs, but then the option to use a Geforce PhysX processor is grayed out.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Working here for me on the 177.39 driver on Vista 64.

    Only Issues I have with the physics maps on UT Is that after a few minutes UT gobbles up all available memory.....All 4gigs of mine and then begins swapping.....I've heard of this happening to other peeps as well...the map plays...but then eventually goes Into a slide show.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,886 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I get the same thing on my G84 (8600gts)
    When will G8x series support happen?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    Phyxx 8.06.12 is working on 8800gts g92 177.35 xp32, however physx ut3 lag a lot.
  11. jinaun New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i've got X48, and i'm wondering whether 2 nvidia cards will work on it, but its not sli.. more like one card for display/rendering and another card dedicated to physics processing

    eg.. gtx280 for rendering and 8800GTS 512MB for physics on an intel chipset such as X38?
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
  12. Shatrat New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    8800 GS (this is a G92 btw)
    177.39 driver
    vista 64
    not working
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Working good for me 8800gts 177.39 vista 64. Only truly large difference I've seen so far is vantage. Mass Effect runs perhaps a little smoother, but it ran pretty well before I got the phyX drivers, so I can't say for sure. We'll have to let these things mature and wait for some more games to come out w/ it.

    I'm wondering, I can't tell if the gtx 2xx series is able to function w/ these drivers on a higher level than the g92's. Does anybody know if perhaps there is some hardware function present in the gt200 series?
  14. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    From what I have read in several places the GTX 260/280 have a section of their die just for physics. Therefore running physics on the card does not take away from the 3D performance as it would on older cards.
  15. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,454 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Intel boards do not support SLi. AFAIK, you cant use one video card soley for video and another nvidia for physics.
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,650 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    i might snag a 8400GS if this works out $25 phsyx card anyone?
  17. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Not now, but later yes. :)
  18. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I don't own anything Nvidia. But if I installed my Asus P1 PhysX card would this work in those games also? I know UT3 it made on the Ageia engine, but what about other games???

    Thanks
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,705 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,862
    Yes, actually that it supported. You can use one card for 3D Rendering and a entirely different card for PhysX.

    Anything that supports Ageia PhysX will work with GeForce PhysX and visa versa.
    Bytor says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Really thats great ty... May have to keep it now.. But with 3-3870's installed I have no room on my Asus M3A32-MVP MB...

    I do have a MSI K9A2 Platinum MB on the way and could use it with my cards in the 1st, 3rd and 4th slots and that would leave me a PCI slot for the PhysX card.. hhmmmm
  21. jinaun New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you mean such configuration can work on non-nvidia chipsets? as long there is 2 pcie16x slots?

    thanks..

    because i tried with 177.35/w modded inf.. and the 9800gtx sitting on pcie16x #2 refuses to start... however the gtx280 works fine on the first pcie16x slot.. (the gtx280 is connected to a monitor while the 9800gtx is not)

    pls advice
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,522 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Ooh, I don't know though Newtekie says it's supported, but will it work? You could be the guinnea pig for many of us!:D :toast:
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,705 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,862
    You have to go into the PhysX Control Panel and tell it to use the 9800GTX.
    Also, if you are running Windows Vista, you must extend a desktop onto the card before PhysX can use it.

    You can get more information from the Ageia manual found on your hard drive:C:\Program Files\AGEIA Technologies\NVIDIA_PhysX_Help.mht or C:\Program Files (x86)\AGEIA Technologies\NVIDIA_PhysX_Help.mht
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,522 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    I would love to see what a GTX260 and an 8800GT would do in my board. Very cool!
  25. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i see in nvidia site the 177.35 only support the gt 200

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page