1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Quadro Unleashes High Resolution Real-Time Video Editing in Adobe CS5

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yes it does, Polar, but the Quadro line has never been cheap.
     
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    :shadedshu
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    LOL ... you had to see that coming FS. :D No high-end graphic card discussion is complete without that never ending question.

    In my experience the Quadro cards are quite powerful and very accurate from a CAD standpoint, but almost every card I've had on my work network has failed and had to be replaced. Not saying it's nvidia's fault as they are not the ones making the cards, but I when they fail left and right you get a rather bad impression.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  4. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    945 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    Could this thing play my Youtubes?
     
  5. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    Apparently OpenCL was used for CS4 but was 'less than satisfactory'. It kind of makes sense, look at how much better Cuda is for F@H.

    Erm ... as far as I can tell, this press release is not promoting any new Quadro hardware - their current gear has been around for a couple of years now - but is actually promoting Adobe's launch of CS5. This is relevant to Nvidia because CS5 now uses Cuda to do real-time rendering.

    So I guess the answer would be no, it can't run Crysis - but it could render the hell out of any Crysis screen-shots that you might want to photoshoop.


    Oh, and I imagine Nvidia will eventually release new Quadro gear based on Fermi, but look how long it took AMD to release it's 5000-series-based Firepro card (it launched just the other day, good timing hey), so I'd give it 6 months at least before you see Fermi-based Quadro.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2010
  6. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Probably nvidia "works closer" with Adobe ?

    This is actually a good thing for some since we dont need to "behcmark and compare" pro level graphics cards, makes purchasing a single choice deal, cant wait for these babies to be at the office PC!
     
  7. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    pew pew
     
  8. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    From the article I quoted earlier, it seems that it not a TWIMTBP situation:

    I just hope that the next versions Photoshop and Premiere Elements are based off CS5, so they'd get Cuda acceleration as well.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,651
    to be honest i can say that part about ATI is BS, to get openCL working takes 2 minutes and two exe's
     
    eidairaman1 and gumpty say thanks.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,931 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    Open CL hasnt been around as long as CUDA. Give it some time and OpenCL may become the standard.
     
  11. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    Yeah, I don't doubt that CS6 or CS7 will have OpenCL support eventually. It seems that Adobe wanted GPU acceleration that works well now, so went with Nvidia. In the long run though OpenCL will make more sense for Adobe.
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,105 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    Just to be clear CS5 uses CUDA for Premier. NOT Photoshop. CS5 Photoshop uses OpenGL 2.0 still. However I cant help but think of "under the hood" optimizations were made for Nvidia hardware. It makes me sad to think my beloved Adobe is playing favorites in the hardware ring.

    However at the same time I understand given how popular the Quadro is. It just makes sense.

    Anyone want to buy a 5850? I was just put into the market for a 480.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page