1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Releases GeForce 260.89 WHQL Driver Suite

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,853 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    NVIDIA today released GeForce 260.89 driver suite. The software provides WHQL-signed drivers for all GeForce 6-series onwards, and ION platform GPUs. It also provides 3D Vision software, GPU-integrated audio device driver (version 1.1.9.0), and PhysX system software (version 9.10.0514). As with almost every new release, GeForce 260.89 WHQL packs a host of performance enhancements, official support for new GPUs (it's GeForce GT 430, this time), and a host of bug-fixes. What's different this time around is that the performance enhancements are specific to two GPUs, GeForce GTX 480 and GeForce GTX 460. SLI profiles are added for new game titles.

    DOWNLOAD: NVIDIA GeForce 260.89 WHQL for Windows 7/Vista 64-bit, Windows 7/Vista 32-bit, Windows XP 32-bit, Windows XP 64-bit

    A detailed list of changes follows.

    Performance Increments:
    Compared to GeForce 258.96 WHQL, on the following GPUs.
    1. GeForce GTX 480
    • Up to 10% in StarCraft II (2560x1600 4xAA/16xAF Ultra)
    • Up to 14% in S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat (1920x1200 4xAA/16xAF)
    • Up to 16% in S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat (SLI – 2560x1600 4xAA/16xAF)
    • Up to 6% in Aliens vs. Predator (SLI – 1920x1200 noAA – Tessellation on)
    2. GeForce GTX 460
    • Up to 19% in StarCraft II (SLI – 1920x1200 4xAA/16xAF Ultra)
    • Up to 15% in Battlefield Bad Company 2 (SLI – 2560x1600 4xAA/16xAF)
    • Up to 12% in S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat (2560x1600 noAA)
    • Up to 9% in Aliens vs. Predator (1680x1050 4xAA/16xAF – Tessellation on)
    • Up to 7% in Metro 2033 (1680x1050 noAA – Tessellation on)
    • Up to 11% in Dirt 2 (SLI – 2560x1600 4xAA/16xAF)
    • Up to 12% in Crysis:Warhead (SLI – 1920x1200 4xAA/16xAF Gamer)
    • Up to 13% in Far Cry 2 (2560x1600 4xAA/16xAF)
    • Up to 12% in H.A.W.X (SLI – 1920x1200 4xAA/16xAF SSAO Very High)
    • Up to 5% in Just Cause 2 (1920x1200 4xAA/16xAF)
    • Up to 22% in Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena (1920x1200 noAA)
    • Up to 5% in 3DMark Vantage (Extreme Preset)
    New 3D Vision profiles
    NVIDIA 3D Vision stereoscopic profiles are added for the following games:
    • Arcania: Gothic 4
    • Fallout: New Vegas
    • FIFA 11
    • Formula 1 Racing
    • Final Fantasy XIV Benchmark
    • Guild Wars 2
    • Kane & Lynch 2 – Dog Days
    • Lead and Gold
    • Lego Harry Potter
    • Live For Speed
    • Lost Planet 2
    • Moonbase Alpha
    • Serious Sam HD – The Second Encounter
    • Shrek Forever After
    • Singularity
    • Vitua Tennis 2009
    • Virtua Tennis 3
    New SLI Profiles
    New SLI multi-GPU profiles added for the following games:
    • City of Heroes: Going Rogue
    • Alien Swarm
    • Dead Rising 2
    • Front Mission Evolved
    • Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days
    • LEGO: Harry Potter

    A complete list of bugs fixed can be found in the Release Notes documents (for Windows 7 and Vista and Windows XP).
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2010
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Just downloaded. They have a new installer which seems rather remeniscent of ATi's and, rather surprisingly, it doesn't require a reboot afterwards...
     
  3. Taskforce Guest

    Finally, been using the beta for far too long.
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,853 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    NV's driver installers didn't require reboots since years.
     
  5. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    They always wanted a reboot whenever I installed them...
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,853 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Strange, because that's not how NV's installers work (for almost anyone). They start the new driver right away.
     
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Oh ffs just installed the latest beta's yesterday which I think are these.

    Yeah no reboot here either.
     
  8. anasuelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    btarunr is right. Nvidia drivers do not require reboot from almost 6 months by now. Also, the appearance of the setup has changed 3 or 4 versions before this. So nothing's new to this release.
     
  9. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    That's odd, because I always keep up-to-date with my drivers and this is the first time I've ever seen the new installer.
     
  10. anasuelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
  11. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    There was no 260.63... Or at least not a WHQL version. The last one was 258.96.
     
  12. anasuelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    Ok sorry, we were simply not speaking of the same thing: I consider every release, you consider WHQLs-only. ;)

    Post scriptum: Commodore fanatic? Kudos! Amiga500 rulez! :toast:
     
  13. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Indeed it does, however I only have a 600 myself!
     
  14. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Amiga 500 FTW! 1000 & 2000 models as well! My dad had all 3.

    Hopefully the GTX 470 will benefit from the drivers as well. I'm hoping they do but nVidia didn't bother to mention how. That would be crazy not to improve performance in that card when it is much more popular than the GTX 480. Mine are kicking butt!

    Had to restart my PC after install.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2010
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,358 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    Florida
    these made me reboot
     
  16. anasuelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    Improves that are referred to as "GTX480" are also applying to GTX470s. Simply because it's the same exact GPU (GF100) only with a SM disabled. ;)
     
  17. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Tried them out still fan control is wonky..... You set the fan speed. It will go to that speed but it will report at 30% on the slider. Even though the Speed of the fan is at it's actual speed you set it for.

    Nvidia software team is slipping. Too worried about up coming products to be concerned on the ones they are currently selling.

    I know it's the drivers because I went right back to the 256.89 drivers and it worked fine.
     
  18. anasuelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    Fan control? I don't see any fan control on Forceware control panel. I use afterburner to do that, it works perfectly.
     
  19. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,372 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Ahhh...Commodore 64 with a tape-cassette station rules......

    And by the way...these are the exactly same as the betas: Forceware 260.89
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    For awhile now it's been very inconsistent for me on asking for a reboot or not.
     
  21. TheOnlyHero

    TheOnlyHero

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sliven,Bulgaria
    I'm getting annoyed when nvidia forget the 200 and 9 series video cards . I have 9600gt and i have not seen any primary optimization for 9 series since gta 4 . Nvidia dont forget that the most of your cards users have 200 and 9 !

    p.s the only good new update to any game is :GeForce 9600 GT, GeForce 9800 GX2, GeForce 8800 GTX/Ultra/GTS/GT: Assassinʹs
    Creed: Directors Cut ‐ the shadow flickers. [400541]
     
  22. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Oh and I did a reboot since I chose to do a Clean Install :D

    I hope not, those beta's caused Mafia 2 to crash within 2 seconds of opening the game.
     
  23. erek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    try MSI Afterburner, should work (i experienced the same problem with EVGA Precision)
     
  24. anasuelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    ...I was taking to user "20mmrain" and I already use Afterburner... it's what I said:

    lol
     
  25. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I always do a reboot, i don't care what Nvidia says about that. Uninstall drivers in control panel, run driver sweeper, reboot, install new drivers, reboot again.

    Gonna give these a try.:)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page