1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Releases PCI-Express Gen 3.0 Enabling Patch for Sandy Bridge-E HEDT Platform

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Although pre-launch drivers of the GeForce GTX 680 let the GPU run in PCI-Express Gen 3.0 mode on Intel's Sandy Bridge-E HEDT (X79) platforms, the release drivers limited the GPU to PCI-Express Gen 2.0 on the platform. The issue carried on with GeForce GTX 670, and other graphics cards with "Kepler" family of GPUs. NVIDIA cited reasons such as the platform not being PCI-Expres Gen 3.0 "certified" although it supports the 8 GT/s mode. The company assured users that it was working on getting its hardware to work on the Sandy Bridge-E HEDT platform in Gen 3.0 mode, and until it's absolutely certain about reliability, it is forcing PCI-Express Gen 2.0 mode.

    NVIDIA released a patch that enables PCI-Express Gen 3.0 mode on Intel Sandy Bridge-E HEDT (X79) platforms, which lets graphics cards based on GeForce Kepler GPUs, such as GeForce GTX 680, GTX 670, etc., take advantage of 8 GT/s per lane system interface bandwidth. The mode could come particularly handy for graphics cards that are installed on electrical PCI-Express 3.0 x8 slots, as they could end up with bandwidth comparable to that of PCI-Express 2.0 x16. The patch should be installed along with the latest stable drivers. To enable the patch, run the executable and reboot the system. To undo the patch later, run the same executable with "-revert" argument in Command Prompt. Use only if stability is not absolutely paramount, or if the hardware is not operating in a mission-critical environment.

    DOWNLOAD: NVIDIA GeForce Kepler PCIe 3.0 mode-enabling patch for Sandy Bridge-E systems

    Source: NVIDIA
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
    Aquinus says thanks.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,003 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Took long enough? At least they're working on it.:cool:
  3. Rahmat Sofyan

    Rahmat Sofyan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    94 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Pekanbaru -Riau - Indonesia - Earth
    I wonder is it kepler really built with Pciex 3.0 or what?
    Or just tweaking chip from fermi and indeed still use Pciex 2.0 technology?
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Kepler is a PCI-Express 3.0 GPU, which runs in Gen 3.0 mode on PCIe 3.0 certified systems (Ivy Bridge).
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,003 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I was under the impression that IVB and SB-E both weren't PCI-E 3.0 certified, but could run 3.0 speeds according to Intel.
  6. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    the real truth is that NVIDIAs/ATIs GPUs don't correctly abide by PCI-E gen 3 specs an that intel's CPUs don't either, at least that is according to PLX they are the only ones who correctly abide by PCISIG.
  7. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Does it really matter when the differences between X16 of 2.0 and 3.0 are that irrelevant to all of the GPUs anyway?
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    IVB is PCIe 3.0. SB-e..not so much, but it's possible. Not all chips can run it, apparantly.

    I've seen some very interesting stuff with PCIe 3.0 and multi-GPU. Like 30-40 % gains. I do not know if the same still holds true though.
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    I haven't, not with 680s or 7970s anyway
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    you ran 3 + cards? It's only there that it shows. I've been looking for someone else to run these tests, but have not found anyone. I've tried to get cards too ,as you know, but spending that much money on cards doesn't make sense to me, personally, as I want GTX690!

    The story goes that the loss of scaling when adding third/fourth cards is due to lack of bandwidth to the GPUs, and between them. But it was done on SB-E, which is not exactly "certified" for PCIe 3.0, so noone knows exactly what the story is here, and what is going on.
  11. Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    606 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, that's it! Thanks, Fluffy. ;)

    So, I wonder if this still holds true, or if that was part of the hack to get PCIe 3.0 as it was driver disabled...

    (I saw his post on XS).

    Need someone with 4 cards and 3 monitors to do some testing, or someone to loan me 4 cards of GTX680, and 4 of HD7970!


    :roll:
  13. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    yea it also probably depends on your screen res, Vega runs very big
  14. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
  15. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    259 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,076 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    "To undo the patch later, run the same executable with "-revert" argument in Command Prompt. Use only if stability is not absolutely paramount, or if the hardware is not operating in a mission-critical environment."

    Why wouldnt stability be paramount in any machine?
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Some prefer performance. See any extreme benchmarking user running LN2. ;)

    See, the story is that not all Intel SB-e CPUs are actually capable of running the PCIe domain at PCIe 3.0 speeds. They are all capable of running the encoding method, just not the frequency.


    Because of this, it is impossible for nVidia to guarantee that a user's CPU is capable. There is a good chance that it will be, but without Intel confirming PCIe 3.0 for all CPUs(and Intel does not, specifically stating that all amy not run proper speed), there is no way nVidia could provide this "fix" without that little disclaimer.

    Now, if the above posted info aobut PCIe 3.0 and multi-GPU has any rel merit, it would really make some sense for nV to provide this patch ASAP, and this really seems to have been what they have done.
    okidna says thanks.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    At least when it comes to nVidia cards, they do have the PCI-E 3.0 Logo on them, so they are certified by PCISIG. I'm not sure about AMD, but AFAIK it is only Intel's platform that isn't PCISIG certified which is why they can't say PCI-E 3.0.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. makwy2

    makwy2

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    486 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Damn it Nvidia! You shouldn't be enabling people!
  20. Xzibit

    Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    I dont think there ever been a official PCI-E 2.0 or 3.0 logo. Just the PCI Express logo.

    Both Nvidia and AMD AIBs just slap the PCI-Express (Basic) logo somewhere on the box (Side or Back). Just look at Wizzard reviews for packaging screenshots.

    Motherboards are different. Each motherboard maker has their own take on the PCI-E logo. Usually its the official PCI Express (Grey Frame) logo with a gen # added to it on the side or bottom.
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    There is a PCI-E 3.0 logo, it is just the PCI-E Logo with a 3.0 after it, and the card has to be PCISIG certified to have that logo. For them to legally say the card is PCI-E 3.0 the card has to be PCISIG certified. That is why Intel can't advertise their platform as PCI-E 3.0, it isn't PCISIG certified.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. Xzibit

    Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Pretty sure there is no numeric logo for PCI Express

    There is no mention of numeric PCI Express logo on the site nor on there guildline use of logos
    Guidelines and usage says basic logo is acceptable for compliance with 1.0 spec and higher. So according to them thats there only PCI Express logo.

    PCISIG Log and Guildelines

    If a company chooses to add a number seperate from the logo thats just not part of the certification.
    The consumer would have to look them up on the list for 3.0 certification not look for a logo on the box.
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    The part I'm talking about is covered on page 6 of their Guidelines, that states a product can't claim it is compliant with PCISIG standards unless the product in question has passed all compliance testing related to the specification. So, while there isn't a specific 3.0 logo, the product can't use the term PCI-E 3.0 anywhere, even in the documentation, unless it has passed PCISIG compliance testing. NVidia cards use PCI-E 3.0 in their packaging and documentation, which means they passed the compliance tests, and again I'm pretty sure AMD cards are the same. Intel's platform has not and hence you won't see PCI-E 3.0 anywhere in Intel's documentation or packaging. Basically the words "PCI-E 3.0" becomes the logo I was talking about.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Limoges_Gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does this modify the video driver? So, uninstalling the video driver, and reinstalling it would also undo this executable, right?
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,076 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    U realize this is going on 2 years ago?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page