1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia Removes Hybrid PhysX Blockage

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Regeneration, May 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Regeneration NGOHQ.COM

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    It seems that Nvidia has removed the hybrid PhysX blockage in the recent 257.15 GeForce drivers. However, it is still a mystery for us if it was done intentionally or perheps it is just a bug. "I'm seriously amazed. I've tested it by myself on Windows XP and Windows 7 x64 - it really works out of the box with 257.15. And even more surprising - timebomb issue is gone too. It would be at least one respectable deed by Nvidia, and my mod would be obsolete, which is great for everyone. So we better hope this is permanent." said GenL.

    Source: NGOHQ.com
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Is it obsolete? How does one get an ATI and nvidia card to use physx? Or perhaps you are talking about something else?
     
  3. Regeneration NGOHQ.COM

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Hybrid PhysX means using Nvidia GPU only for PhysX rendering and Non-Nvidia GPU for GFX rendering.

    Just like in the PPU days.
     
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,225 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,131
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I think it was referring to the last update of nVidia PhsyX drivers not allowing installation when an ATi GPU was detected in the system.

    Regen, why don't you put the NGOHQ logo as your avatar? :)
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,855 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    To install with the 257 beta driver will we have to go back to the using a 2nd monitor method or did you use the same process with running the Physx mod tool?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Could you provide instructions on how one is suppose to use install drivers for both an ATI as the main GPU and the nvdia card as a PPU? Is it as simple as installing the ATI driver 1st, reboot then installing nvidia drivers?
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,815 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    The way this Topic Title Sounds, makes me think NV had something plugging their anus/rectum and they couldn't relieve themselves. Magnesium Citrate anyone???
     
  8. Regeneration NGOHQ.COM

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Just plug some fake monitor adapter to the Nvidia card and enable PhysX from its control panel.
     
  9. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Hats off to nVidia, if this proves to be an intencional and permanent move.
     
  10. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=119217
     
  11. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    If this is the case, I am happy. nVidia will only get more customers from allowing this. I just got mine set up correctly this morning and Batman AA with PhysX enabled is pretty stellar.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,079 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,521
    I still have yet to play Batman. I might as well pick it up now that I'm using a PhysX card.
     
  13. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I knew Nvidia had strategy, it was all a matter of time. This should piss off ATI purists.
     
  14. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Do it! The game is awesome, and the Joker is voiced by Mark Hamill which may or may not make the Joker the son of Darth Vader. The game is incredibly well done.
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,079 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,521
    WTF is an ATi pursit? Sounds like idiomatic garbage to me.

    Well Regen, looking forward to your next fix when Nvidia "fixes" their bug. :toast:
     
  16. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
  17. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    LOL !!!!!

    ouch thats a bite in the ass.... so i guess everyone will just run these beta driver then and not upgrade?
     
  18. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    An ATI terrorist.

    Sigh* We will have to wait again if Nvidia actually decides to fix it, perhaps by then CCC 10.6 might be released rofl.
     
  19. Blacklash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    I thought this sounded odd. So it's a bug eh?
     
  20. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    847 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Latvia
    Yes, this is a bug in the latest build of PhysX that was packaged with the driver. We'll be fixing this issue ASAP

    Kinda hard to call that a bug, nvidiots...
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,385 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,864
    Location:
    US
    Maybe this will help.
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=119217
     
  22. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,086 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    this is old news more on :p:p:p:p:p:p:p
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,628 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,882
    this is old news and was covered on TPU's front page some time ago.


    it was an accident, and the drivers that worked were removed and replaced on nvidias site with drivers that had the blocks back in place.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page