1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA - SLI Doesn't Work in Crysis

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Crysis hasn't been out for more two days and a number of people have already found out that SLI technology doesn't yet work on the new DirectX10 game title. Granted, Crysis is only in beta, but it would still be nice to see SLI supported from the start. NVIDIA made a statement today that the final Crysis game will support SLI via a patch.
    Source: Legit Reviews
     
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Just shows how much power EA has had in creating this game.

    Rushed RTM release, features moved back to patches promised for the future. They are starting to sound like Microsoft.

    Not to mention horrible gameplay elements found in every other by-the-cookbook FPS lately; recharging health/shield, enemies that light up in bright outlined colors when targeted, and a ridiculous damage system.

    EA is killing videogames, just like Atari did in the 80's.
     
    Weer and DaMulta say thanks.
  3. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Does that mean that my setup will be faster than 8800 GTX SLi in this demo? Cool.
     
  4. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Wow, could you stop saying incredibly smart things that I always agree with?
     
    wazzledoozle says thanks.
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,024 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    and Atari is almost dead as of a 3rd party, they lost Licensing for Unreal series to Midway.
     
  6. Nitrogliserin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    how can it be? nvidia is main sponsor of crysis
    and yet they dont have SLI support of their cards
     
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Its like BF2 all over again! :shadedshu
     
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,463 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    this is surprising considering this is the biggest game this year and they cant enable SLI for the single player demo? i thought this was made for nvidia cards?

    this is not suprising because it seems like this demo was rushed, which is common these days. if anything, i would expect the first retail release of crysis to have a decent amount of bugs in it. im sure there will be a huge patch a week after release.

    i think EA would do better if they didnt strong arm all the companies they partner with. gamers want creative games with unique features and the creativity would be better served if the corporate man (EA) would stop trying to create lame features that he thinks are cool when the artist (coder) shakes his head and does it because he needs a paycheck.
     
  9. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    Is crysis support CrossFire to???
     
  10. cool_recep

    cool_recep

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    344 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Istanbul/Turkey
    ATI will try its best to perform better than nvidia on this game....

    I am sure he will...
     
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    So, what is next? Nvidia is going to sponsor a game in which their cards DONT work? I bet there is 10 lab monkies at ATI findind out away to make the crossfire do 100 times better now than the sli. A patch here, and update on the Catalyst to make it smooth like menthol.
     
  12. newbielives New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    164 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So from the general EA bashing, what I hear is if EA released the demo 6 months from now with SLI support instead, everyone would be happy :toast:
     
  13. ReTiCuLe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    EA isn't in any way shape or form on the DEV team for Crysis. They're the Publishers only.. i.e. Box, Purchase availability, Manuals (A few other things I'm missing). CRYTEK are the developers, so start whining about them if you must cry about something.

    Also... It's the holiday season. They're rushing the product which in my opinion judging from the demo and MP beta is close to finished with the exception of a few minor bugs and SLi support.

    It's Marketing people, stop crying. 90% of the games released in the past two years have been fubared with bugs, no SLi etc..
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    dont forget this is an old build of the game, and Nvidia has no control over which version is released. for all we know, Nvidias drivers work fine for SLI in the latest full-version builds, its merely the demo that it doesnt work in.
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    It's good to know how many of you are starting to realize how much Nvidia sucks.
     
  16. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Yeah well... so wot its only a demo, im sure Sli will work when the games released
     
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I hope to god that it will... Nvidia doesn't need to have a sponsored game not work with their stuff... Btw, has there been any games where the sponsored card didn't proform better than the rival card? I've been a consol gamer until meeting up with my friend on here..
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Nvidia should just keep thier damn name off of it if they can't run it.
     
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    EA should just buy Crytek and get it over with ;)
     
  20. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Any source that EA is screwing up this game? To my understanding, Crytek is an independent video game developing company who is using EA as a publisher, being that EA is the biggest video game publisher. And what is a publisher, they just promote the game via adverts, make the boxes, stamp the cds, print the manuals, ship to retailers, etc...Crysis has went through so many delays, something that is not popularly seen if the game is under the control of EA, therefore this game was not rushed. And guess what, all of today's Valve games are published from EA, and we don't see them F-up from EA... You guys gotta stop make false assumptions. BF2 was buggy, for DICE is an incompetent developing company, look at bf1942 when dice was independent, it was caked in bugs!
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    ^^^agreed^^^
     
  22. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,463 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    true EA is actually coding the games, but they are the publisher, and the largest one at that. companies like crytek dont have to go through EA to get their game out there, but it was probably their best (most profitable) solution. other publishers simply cannot distribute as much as EA can, or atleast compete with their prices. so EA does have a say on which games they want to publish. EA has a reputation and doesnt want to be known for publishing shit titles. and im sure EA looked at Crysis while it was in development and told crytek to change things.
     
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I dont see what all the hub bub is about. Its a DEMO, not the actual game.
     
  24. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    No one buy crysis for God sakes...EA has ruined to many potentially good games that its old.


    :nutkick:
     
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    I hope the full game is, but i thought that the rig they were testing it on was 2x8800Ultra sli?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page