1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA to Upgrade GeForce GTX 260 with 24 Additional Shaders

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,687 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've considered flashing my 260 with a 280 bios, but with the missing memory chips and most likely hardware disabled GPU sections...even if it did work you'd have an overvolted and overclocked GTX260. But maybe someone out there will try it and find out something more positive? Won't be me! I'll flash my 260, but only with a 260 bios! :D
  2. flclisgreat

    flclisgreat New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    658 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59

    i thought all that was "common" knowledge? people didn't know that? i always just assumed that all the celerons/semprons where f'ed up allandale/athlon's with cache/cores disabled
  3. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    By the time GTX 280 Rev. 2 comes out, it will be too late. the HD 4870 X2 will already be lower than the newest revision of the GTX 200 series.
  4. TooFast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    391 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    montreal quebec
    what a joke! is this all nvidia has??? once the 4850x2 hits the street it will really be over this round.
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    gotta love competition, you Green Team Members should be very Happy that Red Team is giving them competition.
  6. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    exactly! with out competition the 8800gtx would still be their flagship card.
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    probably not without some sort of modding... and why would you want to?? - the slowest card determines the speed in SLI, so you would be basically SLI'ing two normal 260's but paying more for the fancier version.

    I was gonna buy another 260 this week to sli, but i figure ill wait till their price goes through the floor with this announcement. If you OC 260 to about 725 Core and 1450 shaders, it can play on the same level as a stock 280, if you sli 2 OC'd 260's youre probably looking at the performance of a stock GT300 (384 shaders etc)... that's plenty enough juice, even for Crysis at very high.

    Im actually kind of happy this is coming out... means i get to buy a cheapo 260. :D
  8. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Does anyone here remember when ATI's X1800GTO could be unlocked to an X1800XL? X1800GTO had 12 pipes, while the XL had 16. All that was needed was a bio update. Some cards had an extra VRM allowing you to do this, while some didn't and were laser locked. Same situation I think...
  9. bas3onac1d New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Decreasing the shader count on a lower-end card is nothing new. They never actually produce different chips for the two highest ends cards. If a 200 is produced and one or two of the clusters are dysfunctional then they can just disable them and use the chip as a GTX 260, the same goes for chips that can't stay stable at 280 speeds, even if all the shaders work.

    However, as more 260s sell than 280s (this always happens with cheaper cards) nVidia must use some perfectly functional cores in the 260. This has been going on for generations with both card makers. Before they were laser locked these chips could be unlocked and run at full speed. Sometimes people got cores that actually did have dysfunctional parts and the bios change never worked for them, it was chance.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    When nVidia released the 8800GTS 640mb with 112 SP's instead of the 96, you could still SLI both together. I don't know if the one with more SP's made use of the extra shaders when in SLI though, I think you are right in saying they wouldn't.

    Also, when they did this with the 8800GTS, they released the new card at the same price point as the old 8800GTS, and discontinued the previous card, so the prices didn't actually go down for the old cards.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    no it doesnt, a 112 and a 96 makes both a 96
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    still far from 4870 , and by the way guys anyone have link for 4870 with 1g i need to know what price of it too

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page