1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Working on GK110-based Dual-GPU Graphics Card?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    I want one for 300$. :D
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    me too :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,527 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,684
    Now now, you have to be reasonable. It should be no more than $550. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    My point is that basically almost only people who tweak their card are going to drop 1k $ on a GPU.

    I kinda imagine the % of people buying the Titan and leaving it a stock is tiny because let's face it, you gotta be really into it to buy one or two, like me.

    That said, it wouldn't have cost that much to Nvidia to deliver a proper VRM.

    So yes, I'm ranting cause Nvidia always cheaps out on PCB components ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,453 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,263
    great card to play your console ports!
     
  6. Am*

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    253 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    THIS.

    If they can release a Titan Ultra that doesn't throttle with all 2880 cores and clock it at a full Gigahertz, it might just get Nvidia by until whenever Maxwell is due. This however, means the VRMs on the board must support at least 300W-350W of power to not throttle the chip. Nvidia themselved proved that their cards were throttled when they released their GTX 770s which consume more power than the 680s they originally replaced.

    I honestly hope they don't waste their time with this dual-GPU card bullshit, as it would be ironic for them to release it, especially after they spent months "educating" everyone about RUNT frames and how much having 2x Xfire/SLI GPUs increases latency, ever since they released the Titan. I don't even think anyone here would give two shits about a dual Titan card for any reason, not even to drool over, since the Titans throttle on their own already without sharing a single PCB. It doesn't matter even if I had $5K burning a hole in my pocket, I wouldn't go anywhere near any dual-GPU card with a barge pole after seeing how it fucks up frame timings in most games.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,040 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Dude vdroop is going to happen regardless of what VRMs you have. Maybe some more than others, but I know erockers 7970s have quite a bit of vdroop as well and AMD is known to use a better power delivery system typically.
     
  8. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    The GTX 580 Lightning I had didn't have noticeable vdroop as far as I can remember...

    If you are talking about reference well, volterras on my 6990s didn't have noticeable vdroop either.

    I get what you are saying though.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,027 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Actually, I would argue that the people stupid enough to drop $1k+ on a GPU are also stupid enough to not bother to overclock it, or figure out how to overclock it.

    But my point is that even the ones that do want to tweak it can without a problem, the PWM is good enough for decent overclocks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Watch out, you basically insulted a good part of this community ;)

    Anyway to answer in your tone, you'll eventually realize someday that money isn't directly proportional to stupidity.

    Goes well with the fact that those people who make good money actually have used their brain in the right way. :toast:

    I'm done since you had to empower your point with an insult :cool:
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,027 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    A good part of this community would likely agree with me actually.

    No insult intended at all, the plain fact is that titans are completely overpriced and only an idiot would actually pay the outrageous premium for them, W1z has even said so himself.

    And there are plenty of people out there with more money than brains. Just because you have money doesn't mean you're smart.;)
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    697 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Titans are overpriced but I wouldn't go as far as calling Titan owners idiots. They have the extra cash. If I did I would've bought one too. :)
     
    radrok says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,040 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    here. do this to fix your vdroop.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1421221/gtx780-titan-any-ncp4206-card-vdroop-fix-solid-1-325v
     
  14. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
  15. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,040 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    It looks like a piece of solder drops directly onto that LED and turns it on! Neat gif!
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,040 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It doesn't turn off. the .gif just restarts. The machine isn't on at the beginning of the gif, then it gets turned on, and the cards goes up in smoke.
     
  19. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Not quite ... but close enough

    [YT]sRo-1VFMcbc[/YT]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page