1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Oblivion Grey Screen (Fresh Install)

Discussion in 'Games' started by AphexDreamer, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I just bought Oblivion on steam after longing for it, downloaded it, installed it and upon starting a new game and watching the intro I am greeted by a grey screen. I can still see all the menus just nothing is rendered?

    Googling this brought me results of past issues with Nvidia cards. Why would this happen and how can I fix it?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Patches, drivers? Do you have the newest? Problems with an Nvidia card..., sys specs say you have a 5870 :S
     
  3. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Latest Patch Version 1.2.0416

    ATI CCC 10.6 Drivers

    Only mentioned Nvidia cause thats all the info I could find when googling for a solution for me.

    I noticed my renderer info files says ShaderModel 2.0 I change it to 3 but it changes back. Some sort of conflict here, my card seems to be to new for the game but how do other people manage to play?
     
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Bad download, install, run driver sweeper? Occurring with any other games?
     
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I've reinstalled it twice checked file integrity via steam which said all files are good and no, I'm not having any issues with any other game DX9, 10 or 11.

    Sorry if I sound rude, I really do appreciate you trying to help. This just has me really frustrated that I have this bad ass card to play this game with, just spent another $25 for it to have it in steam and I can't even play the game.
     
  6. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Check you have bloom disabled... if you can. I know that that caused some problems.
     
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    It is.

    EDIT: Just tried something. Game runs fine with HDR off and AA x8. So question is how do I get oblivion to recognize that my card can do HDR so I can turn HDR on?
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So oblivoin thinks my card can't do Shader Model 3.0... :banghead:

    reading tweakguides there is method to force it but its seems a lil lengthy at 6AM with no sleep so I'll save it for when I wake up. Maybe someone will have a simple solution for me then. Night Night.
     
  9. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Have you tried
    ?

    Nicked it from another site... no idea if it'll work.
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,591 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    If I remember correctly with Oblivion it's either AA or HDR -- you can't have both at teh same time

    Edit, wait you can but not from ingame:

    Tweakguides.com
     
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\

    HDR won't work by its self period...

    The game works with No HDR but with AA. Game doesn't work with HDR and No AA.

    I am at a loss.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,490 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,770
    the game doesnt support HDR+AA at the same time.

    my advice: f#ck HDR, use AA and bloom.
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Many people like HDR better than AA+Bloom.
    I seem to remember Catalyst AI causing some problems in games. Try shutting that off while forcing AA from CCC.
    You should be able to have both AA & HDR on ATI cards. That was fixed back in 2006 or so (unless they messed up and removed it from the latest drivers).
     
  14. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    OK Please read...

    I never tried to run both HDR and AA I only ran one or the other.

    However I really want HDR and know I can enable AA in CCC.

    All I need to do is have oblivion recognize my card can do HDR which it thinks it can't. I think I'm gong to call support I've had enough of this.


    So called support and he said the game is much older than the card and that HDR isn't possible to just use AA. FML, I wanted HDR, grrrrr.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    We understand, AD, it's been a problem since Obilvion came out.
    We are trying to help you out with tidbits of info.
    Don't give up on the game just because of HDR. It's an excellent game and worth playing even if you have to run it not maxed and without the graphic flash.
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Its just sad to think that my older cards could make oblivion look better than my 5870. With HDR and AA.

    Oh well... I think I might have forced it but I can't even tell :ohwell:
     
  17. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    What driver are you using? Have you tried going back to say 10.6? I've heard good things about 10.6 and not exactly the best of things with the last couple of ATI drivers.

    Anyways have you tried the Unofficial Oblivion Patch?
     
  18. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I'm on 10.6 thanks and no I haven't tried the Unofficial. I have accepted fate and will not use HDR.

    It would be nice if other 5870 Oblivion players told me whether or not they could enable HDR?
     
  19. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Do you plan on playing Oblivion without mods? :wtf:
     
  20. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    No already have Hi Res textures for everything in place. Making good use of my 2GB of my card.
     
  21. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    QTP3, Bananasplit's Better Cities, Unique Landscapes, RAEVWD, Enhanced Water? No FCOM?
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I have QTP3 thanks for the rest though I'll get those too.
     
  23. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Watch out with Fcom it can be a bastard to install. OOO+MMM might be the way to go. It's most of the FCOM experience with less than half of the hassle.
     
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Something amiss with that statement. Oblivion should be able to use HDR on any card that supports FP16

    5870 is supposed to have ...
    Seems like there should be a way to get it working.

    Maybe W1zz can shed a little light on this.
     
  25. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Exactly how I feel about it, there must be a way. If Wizard could that would be fantastic.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page