1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OC Log: Phenom II X4 965 BE, XFX Radeon HD7850D 2GB, Kingston HyperX Black 16MB 2X8

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Vario, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Nothing you can do. Your chip probably needs over 1.5 volts. Make sure CPU/NB is at 1.3 volts.
     
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    [​IMG] Here is where I am at now. I tried both 1.50 and 1.375 as you recommend without much luck. I haven't gone over these amounts, should I? Also disabling the spread spectrum helped tighten up my speed a bit too.
     
  3. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    It has gotten a bit further, I selected 1.525 volts on the cpu core and 1.375 volts on the northbridge {EDIT CPU-NB}. Load temp is 54*C Aida64 shows ~1.52 volts load on the cpu core. 4.1 ghz is somewhat stable for a few minutes in prime 95, I will see how long it will go for. So far so good. Not sure I really like running this much voltage when it had no problem running 4.0ghz at 4.125 for hours in p95! Really hit the wall after that. Disabling spread spectrum helped a good bit too.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    OK, lets get this straight. You do not need 1.375 on the NB. I clocked Phenom II's to 4.7GHz and used 1.35 volts on the CPU/NB. Don't get those 2 confused. 1.3-1.35 volts should do the trick on CPU/NB and play with your vcore.
     
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    My bad, I meant 1.375 on the CPUNB. I didn't add any voltage to the NB. Motherboard has 1.30 and 1.375 as settings for CPUNB, so its either one or the other. I added a pusher fan 120mm behind the socket (blowing at back of motherboard) and it seems to help a bit as well.
     
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Back the CPU/NB down to 1.3-1.35 volts and raise vcore is all you can do. Just use the multiplier and no FSB and see if you can get it to 4.1 or 4.2GHz. You can push over 55 degrees up to about 62 under load and see if you can get it there. If not, your maxed for your chip.
     
  7. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Will do thanks bud :toast:
     
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Heres my fan setup
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Yeah its really loud. I need a fan controller.
     
  9. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Okay so I installed saphire trixx and had a go with overclocking. I bumped the core clock to 1180 and the memory clock to 1480, stock voltage, power limit 20%.

    This really increased my 3dmark11 score!

    Here is the result:
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/5304049

    P6129 with AMD Radeon HD 7850(1x) and AMD Phenom II X4 965

    Graphics Score
    6792

    Physics Score
    4810

    Combined Score
    4645
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page