1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCCT test reports stable, but i crash in games

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vexen, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. vexen

    vexen

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    192 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hello, well the problem being, that i crash in games. When i freeze, it normally goes like this : screen freezes, keyboard stops answering (num lock doesn't toggle), sound stutters for a couple of second, sound comes back, then i lose some textures, most of the time the sky, the fog and any bumpmap/specular, keyboard comes *back* (i can toggle num lock). I have to reboot. This can normally happen every 15 minutes, but i had some hopes when i did not crash for my Call of Duty 4 match.

    My CPU is running stock, but i tried underclocking it.
    I tried default bios voltages, but also tried giving 0.1 to 0.2 volts to the CPU.
    My RAM is running stock, tried from 500MHz to 1000MHz, different multipliers.
    I tried different RAM voltages, from 1.9 to 2.1.
    My VGA is running stock.
    My drivers are right.
    Everything was working 2 weeks ago, i never crashed before.

    I did not run a memtestx86
    I did not test another CPU
    I did not test another GPU
    I did not test another MOBO

    I am suspecting the Motherboard. I tried settings on a thread to finally read on the last line that the settings he used were done on phase change. Being 4.0GHz at 1.2V. See the thread here : http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums/7410-post20.html

    Do you think i damaged my CPU, NB, SB, Motherboard?

    Below are OCCT Results, my PSU seems weird, being a PCP&C 610W Silencer.

    Thanks a load.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 7, 2008
  2. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Do you get an error message when the games fail ? I get a rogue "ntdll.dll" error on some games when EVERY bench says O.K. Drives me nuts.:banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
  3. vexen

    vexen

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    192 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    No, there is no error, what i get is a non-responding system needing a reboot.

    Sorry i just explained the error more in-depth.
     
  4. vexen

    vexen

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    192 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    bump.
     
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    To me I think it's the motherboard also. You shouldn't have to do anything in order for it to work. Just more a plug and play sort of thing. But if you have to start ocing in order for it to even be right, then there is someting wrong. My gigabyte board had to be oc'ed to the cpu in order for it to stop going in to a post cycle. Just keeps posting but won't go to windows. They said it was due to a dead NB.
     
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Also, sorry to post twice, But since you are on it with a 45nm chip, having the right bios for the thing will probably help that out. I don't know what revision you are on. But, they did update the bios when the 45nm came out.
     
  7. vexen

    vexen

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    192 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hello, thank you for your comments. The thing is, yes it was 'hard' to overclock at first, but default clocks/voltages were alright. They are not until really recently.

    At the same time, i don't want to RMA a motherboard if i'm not sure it's defective.
     
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Welcome and would try and reset the cooler. Also, what type of tim have you used? I know it isn't the fact that the cooler is off on a side, because your Noctua is bracketed, but I'd still check even if you haven't..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page