1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OC'ing a GTX660OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Lightbulbie, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    654 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    So I'm looking to squeeze a little more performance out of my GPU, and I was wondering if I can OC it past the factory OC safely. (System specs are currently updated and finalized)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I had a Gigabyte GTX 660 Ti OC that hits 1228MHz automatically under boost clocks, but is unstable. The friend I gave it to has to underclock the core by 50MHz to keep it stable, so I probably wouldn't expect much, maybe around 100MHz or so.
     
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,491 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    490
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    As it has Elpida memory, the vram/memory probably won't overclock well, but you could get lucky with the gpu. Go ahead and try it out, every graphics card is different.
     
  4. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    654 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    [​IMG]

    Not bad.

    Pretty solid too.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  5. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Stay around 1200 or so if your on stock voltage , what you really need is higher memory speed to increase BW but that is entirely with memory used .

    My 660ti I run it at 1202 which is stock GPU as pushing it more I really don't see a need but I do have memory up 312mhz (1658/3317 ), I can do 450 in tests but back it off for headroom .
    You still have TDP headroom to spare .
     
  6. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    654 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    [​IMG]
    So something like this?
     
  7. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    no, leave GPU clock alone as your already 1215 in game with last OC but on memory OC yes if it is stable , if stable point and then backoff a bit (at least 25mhz ) .
    Note there will be a point if you try and max out core clock, that will limit the memory clock.
    SO if you want decent memory clock don't try to get the very highest core clock.

    This way is also very safer as your not going for max clock .

    BTW: what is the in game clock with a value of 1200 give, that would be like 1290 for me .
    Also look real careful for artifacts with memory OC, you can use OCCT which has error checking .
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
  8. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    987 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Download the EVGA PRecisionX software to better fine tune your OC and fan settings. There are three GPU clocks happening on your 660.
    Regular GPU clock, Boost Clock, and your ACTUAL CLOCK:

    [​IMG]

    Regular clock is 1112.
    Boost clock is 1177.
    Actual clock is 1215. (as confirmed by your supplied GPUZ screenshot)

    1215mhz may be your max depending on your specific chip, but it's up to you to risk trying for more mhz.

    Did you run some benchmarks prior to the OC and after, to see any improvements?
     
  9. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Yes, there comes to a point of diminishing of returns , where it just doesn't pay to go higher as performance don't increase much vers risk of card .
     
  10. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    654 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Well I just tested Next Car Game and I get an extra 10fps and I don't go under 30fps with decent settings on. (Yay)

    AND! I found the sweetspot. Don't mind the fans/temps, I'm going to work on those.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    987 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Nice!

    1. Noticed your AUTO button under the fan speed 42% is not checked. You want to check it so the fans can keep the chip cool. Some fan curve adjustment may be needed to keep it from getting to loud, if it bothers you.
    2. Move your power target to 111% or the max allowed, this will give you a more stable OC.
    3. Because you got 1188mhz from not increasing the power, you may have more MHz still to chase once you move power to 111%.
    4. OCing is fun but be sensible. I've moved my 670 to a max of:

    Gpu clock +150 to 1130mhz
    Memory clock +600 to 1802mhz/7208mhz
    Boost clock to 1209mhz
    Actual Max clock to 1365mhz

    And don't forget to join the TPU's GTX 600 Owners Club
     
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
  12. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    654 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    Awesome advice! So I bumped the power to 111% (max it let's me get to is 119%)
    Clock bumped 103, and mem bumped 204.

    And everything holds stable.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    You must be running unlocked bios with 1.212v max for 1365 ?
    Most 600 series on avg with stock voltage around 1228-1267 and "around" 500+ on mem, depending on memory used .

    OP, Just go slow and like noted, test for artifacts on memory.
    Also when OC, if your BM results go down, then back off OC . Thats if you go GPU clocks, find best setting , then move to memory .
     
    Lightbulbie says thanks.
  14. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    987 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Stock bios all on stock windforce air cooler. I think I "won" the chip lottery with mine. I generally run it a touch slower 1345 mhz/ 7010 MHz while gaming.

    As it's in my main rig and I don't have a backup computer, I haven't tried an unlocked bios yet :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2014
  15. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    654 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    So at +64/160 is that highest I can get before the driver crashes.

    UPDATE: I guess I got a bad chip because every time I drop the OC closer to stock, it still crashes the drivers.

    UPDATE 2: Bumping the power limit to 119% fixed it. Will test more.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2014
  16. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    only you can tell us what your stable OC is , I would focus on one element at a time (GPU core , then memory) .
    If you do get a driver rest its best to reboot , I have seen where say you OC to high, get a driver reset , lower OC and now its still not stable .

    Reboot fixes this .
     
  17. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    That's extremely good chip, does it scale in performance the same as you go up or does it taper off above 1300 ?
     
  18. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    987 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Scales well going past 1300 but begins to taper once I've hit about 1384/1397mhz with memory dialed down to 7008mhz. It's definitely the stock air cooler that is limiting it, along with the stock bios and stock 1.1750v. I'll be sure to pickup a water block in the future cause I want to see if it can get to 1450 - 1500mhz - crazy goal I know.
     
    Vario says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page