1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCing a i7 930

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by adam99leit, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. adam99leit

    adam99leit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    nunica MI
    Im not new to overclocking at all but i just messed around with a i7 930 i have and i seem to be getting crazy over clocks on low voltage

    example:
    4ghz
    20x200
    @ 1.24v

    i have even linx tested for 24 hours/ prime 95 100 passes / OCCT

    Through all that it passed perfectly has anyone else seen clocks like those on that low of volts. I haven not tried to go lower but its performing amazing and i might be able to get it stable even lower

    example
    4.3ghz
    21x205
    @just over 1.3v (cant remember exact but just one bump)

    Cooling is the only thing holding me back but i wanted input to see what other people think

    Thanks :toast:
    random says thanks.
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    im use 1.213v for 4ghz :D
    adam99leit says thanks.
  3. adam99leit

    adam99leit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    nunica MI
    tonight i think im gonna try for lower i just set it to 1.24 and kept ocing and got surprised when i got to 4ghz
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i havent try less also i just set it and ran occt and meh i hope to get to play with the ss this weekend

    but my temps are alot lower then the 920 vs 980x but after 4.4ghz + 1.4v + there the same lol
    adam99leit says thanks.
  5. adam99leit

    adam99leit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    nunica MI
    lol yeah after that point its just HOT i wanna tune it in for the best 24/7 settings
  6. Rakesh95 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I need 1.355 or something for 4.2 :(

    Its confusing when you get errors and you dont know where its coming from..
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I'm clocking mine right now, I couldn't go below 1.3 vcore setting in bios because my uncore was set to auto -.- ...

    but yes people with i7 930 trying to achieve 4ghz with low voltages DO NOT LEAVE UNCORE ON AUTO! It must be 2 times the ram speed only! Unless you want to use 1.5vtt and ruin your mobo :laugh:.

    Anyway im at 1.264 vcore atm & 1.295VTT gonna go lower now :)

    I have a batch B number : BX80601930
    Lionheart and adam99leit say thanks.
  8. adam99leit

    adam99leit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    nunica MI
    With my mobo i can basically set anything + i have it on liquid as well so keeps it nice and cool booted 4.5ghz BTW just to see if i could it was hot but with some cooling changes i wonder what i can do with this chip its really impressing me

    FYI cpu is on a crap liquid loop so once i do something proper temps will drop a ton to
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    well it seems mine has a default voltage of 1.23vcore, I'm currently running a test on 1.232 vcore so far so good no errors. Its definitely running cool, hasn't passed 60 on my setup just yet but im sure it will, I'll report back with my final settings!
    adam99leit says thanks.
  10. adam99leit

    adam99leit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    nunica MI
    ill be interested to see what you get :toast:
  11. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Well in regards to my CPU,

    HT OFF = 1.264vcore - 60 Degrees
    HT ON = 1.280vcore - 70 Degrees

    Those seem like my choices for 4ghz, I'd say about average, not too bad not too good. Time to overclock my RAM :)
  12. Rakesh95 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Arrgg the more I read the more sad I get. :cry:
  13. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Alright I think I've found my setup, I'm quite confident this is stable since it is after all with Hyper-threading Off.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]




    Finished stress testing it, Its fine by my standard. :)
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
    adam99leit says thanks.
  14. adam99leit

    adam99leit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    nunica MI
  15. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  16. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I hear this alot, but I'm an SLI/Crossfire guy, that alone should be self explanatory and... I has the money :toast:

    That's like asking someone why buy a ferrari when you can buy a camry? They both drive on roads with the same speed limits :laugh:


    And I appreciate having HT there when I need to mass encode some anime etc. But other than that it should stay off :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page