1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCing an AMD 4800 Dual core and then memory

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Claygan12, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. Claygan12

    Claygan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey all, I've found a lot of helpful info in the fx cards forum because I'm about to delve into OCing my dual x1800 GTOs on my ASUS A8N32-MVP Deluxe moboard wit the 3200 xfire chipset and I'm thinking if I don't learn how to tweak my processor better and my memory I'm just going to bottleneck at either point.

    Basically, like the fx card forum has, I need a step by step if anyone knows a good one. I'll of course google this in my research but a tried and true method is always a good bet.

    So far I've played in the BIOS with the AI Nos for OCing the processor. Supposedly it adjusts all necessary settings when you increase the clock speed but I can't get it stable past 7%.

    Any hints or tips is appreciated. Thanks much.
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    AMD 4800X2 and how much memory is that; twin 2048=4gb or twin 1024=2gb?
     
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    lower your HT link to x3 and set your memory timing to 3-3-3-8 then up your cpu frequency to whatever yo u want but dont let your ht frequency go over 1000
     
  4. Claygan12

    Claygan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought twin 2048-2G.
     
  5. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Actually you are correct, I misread the name/type of ram you have, My mistake. Did you understand what Athlon X2 meant?
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2006
  6. Claygan12

    Claygan12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Athlon x2 means dual core no?
     
  7. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Yes X2 means Duel Core
     
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    This may help you, it is what I had to do, & I have the SAME cpu as you do:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=14546

    :)

    * I had a lot of very sharp/solid folks from these forums help me out in that thread, & it may be of use as a reference to you possibly!

    APK

    P.S.=> Mobo (BIOS too) & RAM are from same OEM's for your parts & mine (good!) & pretty close on mobo type/model between your parts used & my own!

    SO, hopefully this can provide you some guidelines/examples of what to do to O/C an AMD Athlon64 X² 4800+ CPU for you...

    Good luck & I hope you find it useful! apk
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page