1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCing an old NVIDIA GeForce 4 MX 440

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Ben Clarke, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Okay, I just found this card in my spares pile. I fitted it (old one broke) and found it onlyu has 64MB. I would like to overclock this to be capable of what 256MB would be capable of. Also, before anyone creeps, "The BIOS" into this, already tried. Nothing there, only an option to increase my DRAM frequency.
  2. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    tbh mate, I dont know why you would even bother trying - why not just take the cooling solution of it, ramp up the voltage and see how quickly you can melt it :laugh:
  3. caesarean

    caesarean New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thailand

    yea,im using these on it:toast:
    [​IMG]
    and
    [​IMG]
    hope its help:toast:
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    ha run ati tool and see how far it gets i mean it just a super geforce2 it prol cant even out do my ti4200 :D but you can try
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    ATITool doesn't work on the old mx4x0 series nvidia cards :( although artifact scanning does. So you can use that in conjunction with the Coolbits registry hack to enable clock controls.

    TBH, there is no way you can overclock it to match a card with more memory, it just doesn't work like that i'm afraid, realistically on taht card overclocking won't gain you much. It only has 2 pixel pipelines, and doesn't even support sm2.0, so even if you phase cooled it, volt modded it and clocked it to 1ghz (for example) you still wouldn't be able to play a lot of games with it.
  6. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    A friend of mine has a Geforce 4 MX! It's nothing more then an overclocked GF2 :laugh:. Do what my friend did- Vantec Iceberq, copper RAMsinks, and then rivatuner. Have fun...but not too much, DX7 is kinda outdated lol.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    ha thats what i said hehe im smart :D

    it workes for me my ti4200 64mb runs just like a 128mb ti4600 so its possible just no very ummm smart it takes massive ocing on the cards and your stock cooled MX cant touch those clocks :D maybe you could reach a my card @stock oc but no more than that they are just to old
  8. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    what i meant is the card would perform better, but wouldn't be able to store 256mb's worth of textures like a card with 256mb could :D
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol i know


    basically when you oc that card it will run low quality graphics fast (640x480) stuff like that but it wont be able to get close to a 256mb vid card youll be lucky w/ that card to equal a 128mb like i said b4 it prolly wont outperform my ti4200 64mb
  10. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    which brings us back to my original post of why bother:D
  11. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Is it really worth considering to overclock a 4 year 1/2 old value card?

    It's barely capable of 3000 3dmark2001se points!

    My friends Ti4200 is a slideshow in most games... I can just imagine this!
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    he only gets 3k in 3dmark shit i get 3x that much @ 330/580 or are you talkin the MX oh and mine can run jedi knights @1280x1024 w/everything on and no slowdowns:D they are not the worst cards just the oldest anyone who wants to play newer games @ any resolution should use

    honestly dont bother the thing is a lost cause :shadedshu geforce2
  13. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    The MX440 can't get much more than 3K in 3dm2001. My friend's TI4200 is probably getting 8K, but heck, my X800GTO2 is getting close to 30K!!! So why oh why bother?

    MX4000 = MX480 = MX440 = MX400 = MX200 = MX100 = Geforce1

    It's more than dated.
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2006
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol i thought the MX shit was geforce2 hmmm i just ran @ my max clock on my ti4200 and broke 10k yeah!!!
  15. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    OK maybe I exagerated on the score, but it's still pretty damn bad if you ask me!

    LINK
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    it sux i oc'd the hell outta my card and it only gets 10k stupid 4x agp it killing me:shadedshu
  17. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Id like to point out at this juncture that having started this thread, Ben Clarke has said nowt since. He is obvioulsy some kind of obselete Gfx card discussion agitator - lets not give him the oxygen of talking about meaningless benchmarks for ancient cards unless he says summat else :roll:
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    what are those? lol my card is obselete how do i sleep at night w/ sumthin like that on my mind?:banghead:
  19. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I have got the old geforce 4 mx 420 PCI, the geforce 2 mx 400 that it replaced was faster. Anyway, back on topic, coolbits should work.
  20. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I tried coolbits, and the registry edit made no difference to the NVIDIA Control Pnael. RivaTuner just messed up my display (Changed all settings to 8-bit colour and 640x840 res, could'nt be changed. My BIOS has NO options. Any more ideas?
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    go and change your nvidia control panel back to classic setup and it will work
  22. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    i think my integrated ati IPX400 grfx on my old mobo out perform this thing by far
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    whats your point
  24. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    that its not worth doing anything to:wtf:
  25. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Why not? Perhaps he can't afford a new video card and just would like to make the most of what he has. Not everyone can drop even 75 USD on a pure luxury item. I would also like to point out that many of us get satisfaction from just seeing how high we can overclock a piece of hardware. It might not grant improved performance, but the challenge is entertaining.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2006

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page