1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Blade ST 1600Mhz don't want to go over 1616Mhz :O

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by teribilis, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello after having some problems with my previous ram kit, I'm currently overclocking my new config:
    Gigabyte 790XTA-UD4
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 Be C2
    OCZ Blade ST 12800 DDR3 1.65V

    At first, I wanted to know ram limits: It is supposed to be run at
    7-8-8-24/1600Mhz/1.65V
    Okay, the only way to be stable was to put the CPU-NB voltage at 1.3V
    But when I put the FSB further than 202, it will be prime95 unstable.
    So, is my ram showing its limits at 1616Mhz ??

    I saw a topic where a guy was a 1.71V ram voltage but at 6-7-6-21/1600Mhz
    Am I making a mistake ?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Try adding RAM voltage. 1.71v is perfectly safe with an AMD system. It's possible the RAM you have just isn't capable of doing much overclocking.
     
  3. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well as I said i saw someone going to 6-7-6-21 1600 at 1.71V
    On another topic I can read :"OCZ Blade ST with Elpida BBSE IC's that can reach 1600 6-7-6 easily"
    And effectively Elpida BBSE seems to be a terrifying chip.

    Even at 1.71V I can't be prime stable at 7-7-7-24 1600Mhz
     
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,208 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    RAM goes through a lot of revisions, and the number 1 revision that they go through is a change of IC's. You might not have BBSE's.

    This is a far from complete, and not perfectly updated, but helpful guide:

    http://ramlist.i4memory.com/ddr3/
     
  5. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes i read this guide and my ram is not listed :(
    I'm becoming crazy, only 16Mhz of overclocking is unbelievable. Do you think that lowering timings might be useful ?
     
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,208 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Lowering timings means higher performance. They are often referred to as "tighter" timings to imply that they are faster, rather than "lower" timings.

    Many kits out there today are binned extremely well so that they won't overclock much, but the manufacturer can offer different price points for RAM.

    For your system, I would recommend leaving the RAM as it is, and focus on overclocking the processor. It's a BE, so all you've got to do is raise the multi and voltage on it, and you should be good to go.

    Also, keep in mind that Your Mileage May Vary with any overclocking. Just because Joe clocked his sticks to whatever doesn't mean your kit should do the same.
     
  7. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When saying lowering I effectively wanted to say tightening, being french, English can be an obstacle in technical language :p

    I can understand chips are different but i could not imagine that puting the fsb at 203 instead of 200 might make the ram unstable ..
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You also increase northbridge speed when increasing the cpu's bus, so it might not have anything to do with the memory at all.;)
     
  10. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hm I don't really understand the problem. For the revision, I don't know :D and the manuf date is last january, dimms are brand new and coming from Taiwan after a RMA.


    I don't think so because I'm currently prime stable with a 2600Mhz CPU-NB and 3700Mhz CPU with my ram at 1600. Furthermore when I put the FSB at 250 but lower the multi and desynchro the ram at 6.66x to test, everything is prime stable.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2011
  11. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    817 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    Yes, you might have to back off on the timings to increase clock speed. Sometimes you have to compromise.

    Try 8-8-8-24 and see where that gets you.
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    ram is PSC what BIOS revision is your board on
     
  13. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm on the last F3 bios
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,637 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,160
    not if they are PSC chips. you need to run at least a +1 tRCD for IC for stability;)
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    they aren't fun on AMD i would bet that the chips wont be stable over 1600 he can try 7-9-7 and see were that goes.
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,637 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,160
    I agree, most PSC sticks are super tuned to Intel rigs.
     
  17. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    7-9-7-24 1T @1.71V at 1620Mhz is not prime stable :S
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,637 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,160
    wait...you're testing ram with Prime? Try memtest86+ ver.4.2

    Also are you changing anything else with the ram clocking? 1620 is an odd number, seems to me multiple things are changing at once.
     
  19. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, with the HT at 205Mhz, if I put my ram at 6.66x to be sure it is not the cause, I can prime blend during 8 hours. Then, when I get errors at 8x I effectively conclude it is the ram fault.

    Effectively it is 1640 and not 1620: 205*8
     
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,637 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,160
    ahh I got ya now.
     
  21. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm 7-9-8-24 at 1640Mhz seems more stable as prime doesn't return errors ftm.
    Anyway when I'm benching my ram, results in read, copy, write at 7-8-8-24 1600 are quite the same as 7-9-8-24 1640.
    Is the second option preferable as it lets me play a little more with the HT?
     
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    you could try 6-9-6 also and for HT clocking there isn't any reason to do so but you could just drop the ram speed
     
  23. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't think 6-9-6-24 will be more stable :D
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Have you tried CL8?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    thats not the issue PSC and old AMD IMC's don't play together
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page