1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Cryo-Z Phase Change Cooler Tested

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Usually that's not the right place for posting reviews, but this one deserves special attention. The crew at TweakTown has obtained a final sample of OCZ's Cryo-Z value phase change cooler. First introduced back in January at the 2006 Consumer Electronics Show, Cryo-Z is still unavailable for the mass. Let's hope that's about to change now, since this story shows the sub-500$ cooler in all its glory. Read the full test here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TweakTown
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2008
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Am I reading that wrong, or is it only rated to cool up to 125W?
     
  3. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    God I am very disappointed in the build quality of it... OCZ are usually really good, this is a huge shame. I just read page 7 of the review..... damn...

    And 68db!!!!!!!! Man that is loud.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I think they're trying to do too much. They've done well making RAM so far, and it's fine that they bought PC P&C, but if they want to make all these other things, it's better for them to buy a company that does it well, like they did with PC P&C, not outsource so they can put the brand name on it. It's a shame they're going to have to basically hand-pick parts from these to be able to keep up to their standards. Maybe some of the "broken" units will go cheap though, and you might be able to fix them!

    Overall, I think this is an utter failure. I hope OCZ reads that review and makes sure that everything's taken care of before they put that on the market.
     
  6. kakazza New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    470 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    What do you intend to cool if 125W is not enough for you...
     
  7. will

    will

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    455 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Hereford, England
    Any core 2 overclocked a significant amount, most air coolers can handle more than that... I very much doubt this is only 125W tho...
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,720 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,680
    I can't see any phase change not being able to handle more than 120w. I'm sure it is just something OCZ put in there to cover their asses.

    And 68db is not loud for a phase change, those compressors are loud.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    nah, this aint v good imo. 125W... -50ish at zeroW load. its a joke.

    Even a mild oc will break 125W, and the build quality was disgusting. I had high hopes for this.

    Its loud, wont cope with a high oc on a cpu, deffo will not cope with an oc on a quad, and its pretty huge for its lackluster performance.

    Thing is, it would work well on a non-heavilt oc'd chip, but then why would u want phase when ur not doing serious benching/overclocking?

    Hell.. my TEC setup keeps my Quad running over 4.4ghz at 9c load

    even a 226W peltier unit can tout -50 to -60C under 0W load ^^
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,804 (11.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,041
    it shouldnt be that low...


    • AC Input: 110V
    • Compressor: ZEL GQY70AD
    • Refrigerant: R507
    • Max Stable Load: 120W
    • Idle, 0W: -45 to -55 C
    • Dimensions (DxWxH): 18.0in x 8.2in x 10.1 in
    • Weight: 26 kg/ 50.6 lbs


    120W doesnt sound good...
     
  11. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    no it doesnt, does it?

    for phase, you cant really do much with that. theres just no point in it!

    phase is for serious overclocks, and you just cant manage that with this!! you would seriously overload the compressor. What about native 130W quads! lols!!! (granted less than 130W, but soon as you start overclocking)

    this is a good idea, done terribly.

    A tec unit would offer much much more than this. but for the overclocks you could use... maybe if you had a 65W cpu, but that still wouldnt give alot of head room when you start ramping up volts etc
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,173 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,932
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Apart from anything else, with phase you need headroom, therefore you realistically are looking for a minimum of 250W, a 130W QX overclocked from 2.66gig to say 4.4Gig is going to draw not too far off 250W, certainly over 200W, little point in getting one of these if all you can manage is 4gig because you could probabaly get that of water for less than half the price.
     
  13. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    exactly what im saying. Its like using ln2 for only a oc of 4.5ghz on a 45nm chip! :laugh:

    its just really, and quite sadly a complete and utter waste of effort and money. What you could realistically acheive with this you could easily get with much cheaper watercooling, or still cheapish TEC cooling.

    I mean on my QX9650, at 4.7ghz/1.59V its churning out 330W. that would utterly cripply this phase cooler
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2008
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    my first issue

    and my second goes with this

    veice 3000+ is a 67w chip with a good oc (3ghz 1.65v) that is up to 155w now i konw thats possible on a air cooler but phase should be able to push 3.6ghz+ which would be 222w (3.6ghz 1.8v) which is well past what this says it can do...

    cold H2O could pull that off...and for a lot cheaper
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    This is better than water, and is closer to a mild water chiller.

    I don't know if you would really have to worry about freezing if you kept it ramped up.
    I wonder what kind of mods can be done to it, to make it better.
     
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, a little different then I was expecting. I dont like the 120w max stable and I assumed you ran a phase change 24/7. Definitely not something I want to get a hold of.
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    i think it and a good TEC would be close and considering 400watts of TEC+H2O psrts is cheapr than that i might have to side with that.
     
  18. Fhgwghads

    Fhgwghads New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    For ~500 bucks I'd take it in a heartbeat
     
  19. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    again.. I have a 437W TEC, it keeps my cpu chucking out around 330W at 9c. dont think I could say the same for this phase ^^
     
  20. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    lol a 45nm quad wont chew 300+ watts
     
  21. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    if that chewed 300watts (220 amps at 1.5 volts) and u ran that monstrosity of a 2900xt at the same time. ur poor 650w enermax would melt
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,804 (11.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,041
    at 1.7v 4.4GHz, i read that it uses 440W. (E8500)

    Remember this is PHASE, if you get negatemps you'll want to crank the juice.
     
  23. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,466 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    AZ
    you've got to remember that the negative temps without load don't tell you much, the promeiteia mach IIgt hits lower temps then the vapochill LS, but the LS can handle 200 watts at -35c, the prometeia at the same load wattage is at -20c. my vapochill classic only goes down to -15c at a 0 watt load, but it can handle a 150w load at -7c. it's the integrity of the compressor and coolant that you need to focus on. and that compressor in the ocz model is a joke.
     
    AsphyxiA says thanks.
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    My current setup puts out more than that on it's 24/7 settings.
     
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,470
    I just spoke with Chris Ram not too long ago...he says to expect a retraction in the review, as he claims it isnt exactly universal and seems to have some instalation issues
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page