1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Cryo-Z Phase Change Unit New Information and Details

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Cryo-Z, the fist budget phase-change system by OCZ, that was reported to be available very soon a couple of times is on topic again at XtremeSystems. According to RyderOCZ, and this thread here started yesterday from the XS forums owner FUGGER, review samples of OCZ Cryo-Z are shipping now to reviewers. The unit will be available soon directly from OCZ for $299 a piece plus 35$ shipping cost. All units shipped to US customers ONLY (sorry about other non-US members including me), will be backed by a 1 year warranty. The reason given:
    A review written by FUGGER is about to be released any minute now, so please keep an eye on these XS threads here, here and here for more information. Also, it appears that Cryo-Z won't be a phase change unit for the mass market, since quantities are limited to "well over 100 units", and every unit needs to be hand tested before it's sold.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: XtremeSystems Forums
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2008
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    OCZ = lamed ...

    big press release and hype .. for this?
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    $300 is a damn good price, I wish I had the money.:cry:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I hope it's going to be released this time for real.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    Me too. From what I have seen, it seems OCZ contracted units out to be built by a cheap company, and most of them came in with various different problems and OCZ has been going through and hand testing each unit and rebuilding them correctly.

    The concept of a cheap Phase-Change was a good one, but OCZ just fumbled it and made a mistake by farming the work out to a low quality contractor.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I think Im gonna buy one,

    So if I read this right, its gonna be sold at xtreme?

    And is this 300 dollar price just a sale, or the new price?
  7. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    All units are 110V, none of them will work on 230V, and we won't be shipping out side North America, if you buy one and have it shipped to EU etc we can not warrant the unit as we have no control over shipping and the fact you are using a 230 to 110 converter.


    uh..... What about canada? We use 110v why don't we get a better warrenty :p
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They said on XS that it will appear on sale on OCZ website only. They said that it will go on sale sometime around tues/weds next week.

    They are also talking like they will sale out on day one with no more runs planed, because they are so hard for them to get ready. If you want one, be sure to watch their site hardcore!!!!


    I see this as a marketing stunt, and bringing it to the public because they have been talking about it so long. You have to think that people will only really talk about it for the first month or so just like this news post here aka getting OCZ's name out even more.
  9. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    we're canadian, and ALL canadians live in igloos :p therefore we dont need it :rolleyes:

    ive been hearing about this thing for quite a while and id be really surprised if it makes it out this time around

    :toast:
  10. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    no units outside US... hmm.. this does not bode well.. from the looks of it, it must break easily.. easier for them to RMA ^^
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    From what I was told last year, when the OCZ was first supposed to release these. That in the EU they have laws that would not you ship these to them with the gas inside of them. So you would have to open another shop up to fill them after they had made it to the EU. That would cost $$$ and a engineer has to check everyone of these I believe.
  12. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    ill be watching it, thats for sure. I was gonna do TEC, but to buy the stuff for the second water loop and the TEC stuff it would cost more than just buying this. I was gonna buy all that stuff next week anyways! I really hope they release it

    @DaMulta

    You have phase right?? Do you use a heating pad on the back of the mobo, I was reading it in the install directions from OCZ, I guess it stops condensation build up??

    What are your feelings here?
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    You don't have to use one(I don't). That's the whole idea is to stop condensation. If you prepare your board right you don't have to worry about it. I plan to sell this one that I have to my boss and get this ocz....if I can get in on the order.
  14. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    found a decent review on the kit
  15. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    So how does everyone feel about running this 24/7?? Id like to run this all the time.....
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I don't see anything wrong with running it 24/7 just like a tec. Just get your system ready for it, and make sure everything shuts down when your pc turns off.
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    The only problem I see with it is that it is loud. A lot louder than most will be comfortable with 24/7.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    wow that things looks like it was build like crap and slaped to gether in like 5 seconds!
    but i always wondered about running it 24/7 it does a really good job performance wise
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    [​IMG]
  20. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    yeppers!!

    Im pretty use to loud, I have a Delta Ultra high speed fan that get really loud when i crank it up! and I have 8 skythe 120's.

    lets hope its not built for crap!!!!

    AND

    For install, you cut a hole in the bottom of the case and run the hose up through right....

    well take a look at my case, that would be pretty hard wont it, and other ideas??
    [​IMG]
  21. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    it would suck if this thing didnt get shutoff when computer was off...you would have one frozen cpu
  22. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    yah but it would thaw!!! hehe:laugh::laugh:

    plus i dont turn off my computer..... I have this weird obsession with running seti
  23. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    you might be able to drill a hole in the side of the box and run the hose out the side and into the case that way like though your window or side of your case...if its long enough that is...might be to short with that case
  24. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I could probably move the tubing around for the water cooling some if I needed to
  25. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    or you could hook the evaporator up to your water res put antifreeze in the mix and have vapochilled water

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page