1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Introduces New DDR2 8GB Quad Kits for Advanced Gaming Systems and Workstations

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    OCZ Technology Group, Inc., a worldwide leader in innovative ultra-high performance and high reliability memory, today announced the 8GB Platinum PC2-6400 “Quad” Kit. These high-density, optimized kits offer users the option of both high speeds and high capacities needed for their demanding gaming PC and Vista-upgraded desktops in a unique 4 x 2048MB solution.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    “To have eight gigabytes of memory available in the system may sound like overkill for the average user; however, in any mega-tasking environment the requirements for system memory can skyrocket and easily break the 4GB boundary, thus far considered as the penultimate amount of system memory,” commented Dr. Michael Schuette, VP of Technology Development at OCZ Technology. “The new OCZ2P8008GQ kit is the first to bring eight gigabytes of memory also to Intel architecture-based systems to explore workloads which previously were a challenge within the personal computing space.”

    The PC2-6400 8GB Quad Kit is ideal for enthusiasts, professionals, and DIY system-builders using Windows® Vista™ as their choice operating system that require the performance of high-speed memory. As the ultimate upgrade for hardcore gamers, the latest DirectX-10 PC titles require large amounts of memory to deliver the most stable system performance and maximize game play. The PC2-6400 8GB Platinum Edition is the ideal memory solution for the ultimate powerhouse PC, and provides unsurpassed stability and performance to unleash every multi-media possibility.

    The 800MHz Platinum Edition runs at exceptional 5-4-4 timings, offering tighter latencies than standard 2GB modules, and provides unprecedented bandwidth on the latest platforms. As part of OCZ’s Platinum series, the PC2-6400 8GB Quad Kits are engineered to satisfy the demands of overclockers and enthusiasts with an optimal balance of performance, overclocking strength, and capacity.

    The 8GB PC2-6400 Quad Kits are 100% hand-tested for quality assurance and compatibility and feature high quality, platinum-mirrored XTC (Xtreme Thermal Convection) heatspreaders for the most effective heat dissipation. Furthermore, each OCZ memory module is backed by the industry leading OCZ Lifetime Warranty and technical support for unparalleled peace of mind.

    For more information on the PC2-6400 8GB Platinum Quad Kit, please click here.

    Source: OCZ Technology
  2. hacker111

    hacker111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    332 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    MA United States
    Sounds like some serious overkill...How fast is it?
  3. Black Hades

    Black Hades

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    I am curious of one thing.. If you had so much memory would you still need a swap file?
    There are IT experts that say that a page file is still required no matter how much physical memory you have. Why is that?
  4. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Well, I don't know about most systems, but I have heard thatthat Windows will try and use a swap file no matter if you have enough memory or not. Something about the way it's set up.
  5. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    I wonder if linux does the same
  6. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    price?
  7. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    You should know by now that their not going to tell us the price:slap:

    They are just going to talk about how good and powerful it is and leave the prioce out just like a bunch of other stories that make it into the TPU news section
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yep. Linux needs swap space too.

    As far as Windows, the OS itself will run fine with no page file, but some apps will not. Many apps require the page file.

    But, with this much ram, you could set up a virtual drive in ram, and run your page file off of that.
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    What OS could use so much damn ram?
  10. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    Vista :roll:
  11. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    They mean well when Vista always uses $50% or more of your ram its only meant to help you out better. If im not mistaken it has something to do with the way it predicts what your computer use patterns are for it to predict what your going to to open up when you come home from a long day from work, whether that be opening up IE7 to watch porn along with WMP or whether it be Photoshop, or even be MS Mail to check your email with.
  12. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Swap is good. Up to the point of when you run out. :D
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    YES!! With 8GB's of RAM, I can FINALLY run Windows Vista!!
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page