1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Intros 3.5 inch SSD & Shows off 1500 MHz DDR2 Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    777
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    We got a good look at the new Colossus SSD from OCZ today. It is a 3.5 inch version, which is available with up to an one TB capacity. It combines two identical SSDs in a RAID 0 array with up to 256MB/s read and write performance and a hefty price tag.
    [​IMG]

    Then they are showing off a demo running DDR2. This by itself is no big deal, but this memory, which is rated at 1333 MHz out of the box is running at 1500 MHz CL5-6-6 with OCZs new air cooler. While all eyes are on DDR3, the latter has matured as well, making such speeds possible in combination with modern mainboards. On the DDR3 front they are showing off 2133 Memory running at 8-9-8 timings.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    OCZ is also going larger on the "do-it-yourself" notebook side. The newest model features a 17 inch screen and 9600 GTS graphic card. Just slap in the CPU, memory and drives of your choice for a complete, portable gaming rig for under 1000 US Dollars.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
    Valdez says thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,155 (13.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    1500mhz DDR2 Cas 5?!!! Oh my! :eek:
    Assassin48 says thanks.
  3. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    :D Smexy!
  4. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I mean it's fast ram. I don't know about Insanely fast...
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,070 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,080
    the only thing 'Insane' about it is probably gonna be the price tag when it comes out.
  6. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    :eek:
  7. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    1500ddr2= I want!
  8. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    That could theoretically provide 18GB/s
  9. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    1500ddr2??? damn, and i just bought g.skill pi 1200's (i have yet to push them). we'll see what the price is like.
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I wonder what volts the DDR2 modules are using...
  11. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    24V Truck Battery ??? :laugh:
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i skeeted a lil
  13. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yesss more importantly i see some DUAL channel there. GO OCZ.
  14. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    OCZ has some really good ddr2 rams nowadays:

    OCZ PC2-9600 Blade Series Low Voltage (2x2GB) 5-5-5-18 @ 1.8V
    OCZ PC2-9200 Blade Series Low Voltage (2x2GB) 5-5-5-18 @ 1.8V
    OCZ PC2- 8500 Blade Series Low Voltage (2x2GB) 5-5-5-18 @ 1.8V
    OCZ PC2-9600 Platinum Series Low Voltage (2x2GB) 5-5-5-18 @ 1.8V
    OCZ PC2-9200 Platinum Series Low Voltage (2x2GB) 5-5-5-18@ 1.8V
    OCZ PC2-8500 Platinum Series Low Voltage (2x2GB) 5-5-5-18@ 1.8V
  15. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    wow i hope that ddr2 is not expensive, looks promising. esp. that with my current rig i have no reason to upgrade.
  16. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,534 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    1500mhz is what's insane about it. I don't see how someone could say 1500mhz isn't insanely fast for ddr2, when ddr2 came out or w/e 800 was supposed to be it's max, at least i've read that. Shit those coming even 1333mhz stock is nice, i'd like to see performance numbers between the 1500mhz ddr2 and say 1600mhz ddr3.
  17. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    or better yet they could just make us some better DDR3 1600 (6,6,6,30 rofl ) while there at it ;)
  18. DJEscreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    you should try the 1600MHz OCZ Platinum EB at 7-6-6-24, they can run at 6-6-6-18 @ 1.9-2.0v... been around for a while as far as I know..
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    1500Mhz CAS5 is faster than 1600 CAS6.
  20. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    mmmmmmmmmm cool wots that got to do with me owning a ddr3 board. I cant put that in it. I know they can make it faster. We all do, but we just need them to DO it. As "usual" the verry impressive ddr 3 kit is a tripple channel kit.
  21. DJEscreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    That DDR2-1500 will not be quite as fast as the DDR3-1600 even if the ddr2 is running at CAS5 due to the way DDR3 works. If I remeber correctly, ddr3 @ 1600 CAS 6 will have a first word transfer time of 7.5ns, whilst - if my calculations are correct - ddr2 @ 1500 CAS 5 will have a first word transfer time of 7.78ns. then again, whats 0.28ns between freinds ay, especially if there is a need of new mobo involved etc?!?! I think those figures are right anyway, not looked at stufff like that for a while!!!
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
    Kitkat says thanks.
  22. DJEscreet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    BTW in my first post, I forgot to say that those 1600MHz OCZ Platinum EB are DDR3......
  23. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yup not to mention its DDR3 not 2 so bandwith will be way better too, not just speed.
  24. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    W00t! I think I should get these:D!!
    oh wait! I think I'd rather go DDR3...:p
  25. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,534 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    doesn't the speed tribute to or pretty much make the bandwidth?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page