1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ memory Bluescreens! help

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by lucasweir, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    hey everyone i recently just built my new rig you can check it out in my system specs.

    i have tried setting auto timings with my memory set to 1600mhz which it is rated at

    my memory model number is: ocz3g1600lv2g

    2X2GB DDR3 1600mhz

    i cannot get the rated settings to run very well i can boot and run programs but every so often get random blue screens :( anyone know how i could figure out wats going on im about to try memtest 86
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,399 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    did you manually set the required voltage?
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See what each individual sticks do and go from there. If they wont run stable and you know for a fact that your cpu is stable at what you have set in bios, then rma your sticks claiming they will not run advertised speeds. If you don't feel like rma'ing, try bringing up your dimm voltage a notch or 2 from default of 1.65, maybe 1.8v. Be careful as that may void your warranty.


    EDIT:

    http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr3_pc3_12800_value_series_low_voltage_module

    Is that what you have in an 2x2 kit? you purchased each dimm seperate?
     
  4. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    i bought a 2X2GB kit from microcenter

    i tried memtest at stock everything and ram set to 1.65v 8-8-8-30 timings

    each stick failed memtest individually and when they were both installed.
     
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    OCZ memory is notorious for not being able to run at rated specs... bump the voltage up to like 1.7-1.75v and see what happens.
     
  6. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    ill try but i just opened a rma ticket so hopefully thell send me some good sticks :/
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Yeah the moment I saw your thread title I was like "RMA time". Let us know how it goes!
     
  8. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    ya i will update

    its gonna be a longggggg weeek
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page