1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Offers New DDR3 Gold Series Memory Kits

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 23, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    OCZ Technology Group, today announced their official crossover into DDR3 memory to coincide with the recent launch of the Intel Bearlake Chipset. OCZ’s hand-tested DDR3 solutions enable ardent enthusiasts to take advantage of the highly-anticipated P35 platform while experiencing the legendary quality and reliability of OCZ memory. The first OCZ DDR3 products will accommodate standard JEDEC specifications for third generation DDR and offer Gold Series memory kits in PC3-8500 (1066MHz) and PC3-10666 (1333MHz) speed grades. OCZ Gold DDR3 modules are currently available in limited quantity in 2x512MB and 2x1024MB dual channel kits, backed with lifetime warranty and free technical support. For more information on the new OCZ DDR3 solutions, please click here.

    [​IMG]

    Source: OCZ Technology
     
  2. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    the 1333 stuff is 4 mhz too slow, and cl9
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but only 1.6v. I'd like to see what these could do with something like 2v.
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    from being 1337 (Leet) eh? ::rofl::
     
  5. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    CL 9-9-9-26

    I'd rather have some OC'd DDR2
     
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    does this fit in a ddr2 slot?
     
  7. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    No, both DDR2 and DDR3 are 240pin modules, but they're not pin to pin compatible.
     
  8. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    It always happens. New technology comes, expensive, and HIGH latency. Wait in 1 year time and you'll see fast ultra memory DDr3 sticks. Bet it will at least got to a 7/7/7 for the 1333mhz.
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    If I owned a motherboard manufacturer I would make boards with ddr4 built into the board.
     
  10. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    You would go bankrupt lol...

    Noone would have the ability to upgrade or change memory.
     
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Tell me you wouldn't buy a board with 2 or more gigs of DDR4 on it.
     
  12. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    I would, if it was considerably cheaper than a board + sticks of ddr4, only because I'm a cheapo. Otherwise, I would opt for upgradability. I hate proprietary.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,955 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    With the success of DDR3 in vid. cards wouldn't you thing when thos latencies come down that DDR3 is going to be pretty good? Is the diff. between ddr3 and ddr4 just size, power consumption etc..?
     
  14. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    That brings up a good point. With DDR3 in video cards being out for so long, why isn't the latencies already better? They have had a long time to work on them!

    GDDR3 also runs at like 2ghz sometimes, imagine 2ghz memory on a desktop motherboard.
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    So they can sell people more than one set.....Almost all of them have lifetime warranty.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,955 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    But why 9? It's just way too high, start off at 6 mabye.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    1.6v is why. Once manufacturers start upping the volts and binning chips, the latencies will drop, just like they did with DDR2.
     
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    endorsed x 11ty billions
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page