1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ PC2-6400 ReaperX HPC 4GB Kit

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Darksaber, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2008
  2. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Nice review als always, but could you include a 1t/2t test in your next reviews?
     
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm surprised at the small performance difference between the CAS 5 and CAS 4 tests at 461 Mhz. It's almost negligable.
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    So the price premium for these is because they are 4-4-3-15 ?
     
  5. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Looks like it. Odds are not many kits run at that tight timings, considering 4GB. While there are plenty that do 5-5-5. This could also be a reason, why this kit does not manage to do 1000 MHz at CL5. As it would have been binned differently.

    here a screenshot from newegg:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Can this ram do 4-4-4-12-1t@350?
     
  7. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    I can check for you in a bit. odds are it will do that, but remember our kit could make that, while a different kit cannot or the other way around.

    cheers
    DS
     
  8. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Hi!

    So I am currently writing you with the sticks running at 4-4-4-12-1T @ 400 MHz and 2.4V.

    Yes they should do 1T easily. ;)

    cheers
    DS
     
    gR3iF says thanks.
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,476 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    you can make the exact same ram by just buying the OCZ chips and dropping on the Thermalright coolers which will work in any motherboard and allow for 4 modules to be used.
     
  10. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have some of this stuff, which I have had since January. However, it is puzzling me at the moment. On my AM2 set up, it managed 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 at 2.2V. However, I've just built a P35 set up, but I can't seem to get it much above 900Mhz at the same timings and voltage. This is annoying, as I'd like the extra bandwidth. Tony at OCZ has had the RAM way over 1000Mhz on 2 P35 based boards, but his settings don't seem to help me much. I'm really confused as to why this is happening!
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,476 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    well ask your socalled buddy Tony over at OCZ on this issue.
     
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,993
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Can we please avoid an argument here? Let's be civil.
     
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,993
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Set your trfc to 52. I bet that will help some.
     
    roadie says thanks.
  14. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Currently running the pc2 6400 ocz reaper HPC series (Not reaperX) @1104mhz 2.2v 6-6-6-15 probably will run lower at CL5 but with preformance tweaks in the bios this runs more stable.
     
  15. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg


    Nice one ;D especially for Amd cpus this is a really good thing.
     
  16. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    DS, are you using the latest bios for that motherboard? I had similar problems running my crucial pc2-8500 high density sticks at 900+mhz until i flashed to the newest bios for my P5K deluxe, and now they do 1150mhz! A lot of motherboards seem to be having trouble with the higher density chips.

    Just a thought :)
     
  17. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Can i mount this kit on my Bonetrail X38 mainboard ?
     
  18. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Yes I thought the same thing, and flashed to 1.8, which seems to be the newest one for the MSI P35-Neo2 FR. Since I used this board for the first time for a review, that was the first thing I did.

    cheers
    DS
     
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I don't thinks those are very good results for that ram really.On the low end maybe but plenty of 4 gb 2gbx2 kits go lot higher when overclocked
     
  20. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yep, that helped a lot. It appears the auto timings on my board are quite aggressive. Cheers!

    My RAM is now at 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 at 2.2V
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
  21. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    "-Cannot place four of them next to each other due to design "


    you can look here


    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page